Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

Wednesday, Mar. 21, 2007 - 10:48 p.m.

Sweet Smell of Excess
***********************


I let Jinky outside
to refresh himself
after his nap.

he usually just
runs around in the yard
or hangs around the
warm sunlit dfriveway.
he sat there
looking sad and lost
on the last day of winter..

He ran off
and there was nothing
I could do to stop him
I just went on with my life
praying he would not get run over by a truck

The moon rose in a happy face cresent
with Venus twinkling just within reach
The night was clear and cold
but where was Jinky?

I called him and flicked the porch light
but no red kitten emerged from the bushes
I went to bed wondering where he was
and was he starving & freezing?

at lunch I checked my phone machine'
a honey voiced lady had found him
read his artistc hand engraved tag
and had taken him inside
for safe keeping
but she left contact information
I called back in the morning
.. got her answering machine
she was at work
I borrowed a pals cellphone
while i was out
to check with the lady
that i wouild be coming to fetch him
when she got home

So I went down to the post office
and there was a package for Jinky
inside was a letter
and a new collart with ID tag
it matched his fur
my sister sent it to him
so he would not get lost again

a cat getting his own fan mail
and gift package
made some people laugh
but it was serious

So I went shopping for art supplies
and picked up some sardines
just in case there was a reunite scene
later in the day

On the way back here
with paint tape and glue
pals cellphone rang'
it was for me
rather for Jinky..
mt cat now had secretaries
and multi media officers

It was the same
warm voiced lady
telling me how much
she loved him already
and explaining where she lived
' I would be right over
to pick him up..OK she was happy to receive me ] and surrender this delightful little fellow


So I knocked door opened
the warm voice had a face
One I recognised..
I had crushed on her bigtime
some summers before
but nothing came of it
she seemed out of my league
shewas a shopper-
not a an artist
& had gone away to business College
in either Europe or california
hooked up with some
high pressure Jr executive
but here she was..
back in Dorktopia
living at her sisters house
working high up in an office tower
in the the evil city yonder
for some faceless Insurance Company
starting all over again..

Buthere she was in her pajamas
at the door
looking good
the annonomous rescurer
of my beloved Jinky
the warm voice
that sold insurance all day
like so many stacks of lumber
was giddy over my refugee cat
the Scarlet Avenger


I learned he showed up at her door
at dusk and just walked in.
He was welcomed inside instantly
as her own faithful red cat
the one she left behind
with her sister in Dorkville here
to persue the big time elsewhere
with the Jr Executive
that cat had recently died
about a month previously
there was a cat bed
a supply of catfood
and numerous cat toys
still in place
there was a framed photo of him on the piano
surrounded by roses on a green lawn
there was no photo of the Jr Executive guy

Jinky fit right in
he ate the ghost cats food
. played with the ghost cats toys
used the ghost cats litter box
groomed himself in fron of the fire
and then joined her in bed
and slept on her pillow

he had a sparce dawn breakfast with her
then she locked him in the house
with the tv on while she was at work
I guess he heard me phoning all day
but never picked up her phone
maybe next time he will
- or at least take a message


I saw him when i first arrived,
laying on her patterened rug
in front of a firelog girl fire
as soft music played' ..
there were fresh gflowers in glass vases'
wine was freshly poured out
into 2 chrystal sister glasses
ready for enjoying in the company
of a very content loving red kitten
the returned spirit of the sacred family ghost cat
the 2 sisters were so enjoying entertaining
their special visitor tonight


As older sister left the room
after the initial greeting
I picked Jinky up
he was yswimming between
Crushettes lovely ankles
as if he had lived there
in a starring role for years-

I thanked the gorgeous
pajama decked cat hostess
for taking such good care
of my beloved Jinky
and she asked me if
he had any brothers or sisters
she would so love to have another cat
just like Jinky
she was definately back in the area
this time for keeps
no more running off after rainbows
She had missed the
affections of a familiar friendly cat


I said i wopuld look into it
and thanked her again
I didn;t expect someone i wearing pajamas
to invite me in for tea and muffins
I guess pajamas were her relax clothes

So I accepted Jinky from her arms
directly into mine right at the door
and restated I would look into finding out
where his lost siblings are
so she could have her own Jinky heritage cat
to restart her new life here Weagreed: he was the finest cat thast had come along
into anyones life in a very long time
Someday i will tell her how ofetn he runs away
and how noften I have to go fetch him

I tucked him in my coat and walked home,
She only lived two blocks away
Jinky runs often
but he never runs far

AsI bent down to kiss his fur
I could smell perfume on him

very nice perfume
very very nice perfume

when i got him home he ran inside
and seemed shocked that
I didn't have a fire blazing
or deep pile carpets in every room
or soft music playing
and no body was wearing pajamas
he sneered at me
waited for his sardines to arrive
and then curled up beside my desk
in his regular dream box
and fell asleep

When he wakes up
he will be here at his rea;l world home
he only lived in the Palace
of the sweet smelling Crushette
in his dreams
on the first day of Spring none the less

But I bet next time he runs away
he will run in her direction
like...
who wouldn't?






 

previous - next

 

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!