Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

Wednesday, Mar. 28, 2007 - 10:52 a.m.


One Last Cute Kitty Story
**************************

Yesterday was warm
so we decided to spray paint
out in the front yard
While we were putting the
finishing touches
on our project
pals' GF,
who loves Jinky
and was solely responsible
for bringing him here as a little kitten
called out

"There he goes"
and we could see waaaay up the street
a tiny red dot running
back and fourth
darting between the legs of some kids
playing on the side of the road
I whistled for him
' and he stopped to look
at us waaaay up the street from him

I motioned for the kids to come over
as that would assure Jinky
would be in the mix
That plan worked fine,
and I grabbed him
as soon as he was near enough
honourable GF held him as we spray painted


A car slowly approached
inside driving was the lady
who had had Jinky as a houseguest
for a week in february
She knew him as Pumpkin
and asked how he was doing
" Fine" I said pointing at him
He was so excited
to see someone he recognised
he squirmed out of Alysias embrace
and raced up to the car
" Awwwwe" how cute

Then we returned to painting
at the end of the driveway
and when the car slowly drove off
Jinky was gone We could see him
as a tiny red dot up the street again
parading with two women
pushing ababy stroller

I tidied up the painting project at dusk
it was getting cold real fast
and waved goodbye to my guests
and then got on my bike
and combed the neibourhood for the Scarlet Avenger


I saw some kids rushing around
by a hedge laughing and waving sticks
and assumed that they were hunting
for an elusive small red animal within
These were the kids opf the nice lady
who had stopped in her car
to enquire about him
They were attempting
to rescue "their" kitten
and take him inside
for a few days
to "warm up"

I asked the kids to step back
and not make any moves or noise

I whistled the cat dinner song
and out from under the hedge
pranced Jinky
licking his lips
whom I grabbed
and immediately stuffed into my coat
as the kids applauded
my wonderous power of persuasion
and then I rode him home
just as the streetligts came on

OK that was last night:
as I sit here typing this
I look out the window
and I see him on the street
wiggling around
getting rubs from the crew
of the carpet installation van
who are putting in broadloom
in the new house yonder
Jinky is there
bugging them
wiggling around
as other service trucks
and passenger cars whizz past him
At any moment
his little charmed life could end

Just 9 more hrs of
danger & adventure
before the
streetlights come on


 

previous - next

 

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!