Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

Saturday, Mar. 31, 2007 - 11:09 a.m.

Whasha Booootiful little Kitty
******************************

Rumour says Jinky spends
way too much time
at the Video gallery
playing with the lovely girls
and parading his ample charms
I would withdraw his privlidges
but he doesn't have any

checked my phone messages before turning in
at midnight last night there was one'

a very drunk woman
calling to say that
my red cat was at her party!
Midnight is too late to act on any sort of
cat retrieval mission
so Saturday morning at 10 I went over
to the address
the voice had shared
The driveway was jammed with cars
and as i walked up towards the house
I noticed some plastic kids toys
had been run over
and just left there smashed
and part of the front lawn
had been driven over
some hours before
deep donut ruts cut deeply into the soft March soil
the emmerging crocuses slaughtered
like so many innoscent bystanders

knock
lady opens smiling
" We have your cat
come on in"

the remains of a wild party
were still in place in the kitchen:
empty bottles of rum, beer and tequila
ashtrays overflowing onto the table
taco chips all over the floor
CDs escaping from a kicked over CD rack several adults passed out on the living room floor wrapped in pink baby blankets and overcoats
with couch pillows sprawled here anbd there
somebody half rose from the couch
and sort of waved
Conversation was out of the question
I learned that the hostess had two little boys' but they were with Gramma that weekend
and so THEY PARTIED HARD LAST NIGHT
almost proud of the
splendor of excess
that lay ankle deep all over the house

but I could see that
there was real art on the walls
and the windowes were alive with
glass rainbow catchers
and various elves and butterflies
slowly rotating on strings
and it appeared as if someone had attempted
to serve a hot buffet the night before
but nobody ate any. or very much

the tinkle of Jinkys bell in the next room
he ran up to me with suitable affectionate recognition

I learned he somehow just got
inside the house at some point
during the party
and had a ball in all the chaos
walking up to people
rubbing against them
and acting friendly
someone saw his tag
called here
and left that drunken message

seems Jinky had actually slept
on the lady of the houses bed
with her own black cat
and got up with them and
had breakfast as their
unsuitable to drive home guests
laid like wet lumber on the floor

"He is very friendly"
ya
" him and my old cat got along instantly
he was very polite and nice
he is always welcome here
----En-EE-Time "
and she handed him over to me
he smelled of cigarettes and cologne but none the less for wear

I was glad Jinky is so personable
and able to party on
with the hard core sector of my community
something I have never been able to do

I brought him back home
fed him and rubbed him down
he is now asleep
in his box of towels
resting up for Saturday night

Similar early spring paganistic Glugathons
are legion here
this time of year
and will start in just a few hours

Its BYOB Jinky dear
don't be a Hyme


 

previous - next

 

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!