Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

Tuesday, Apr. 03, 2007 - 1:28 a.m.

How Small is My World ?
**************************

I'll tell you' I let Jinky out at dusk
and he just slipped away
into the shadows
and all i could do
was p[ray that he found someone
who would let him in
and i would wait for their call
tomorrow' or early in the week
and drop what I was doing
and go get him

but here it is 1"30 am
and I dared to step outside
and whistled for him and waited
and sure enough
15 minutes later
he body slams the door
I purposely leave loose
and bounds in
his little bell jiggling
as if this was
the center of the universe
and he has a lunch reservation

so he does know where he lives
he does know his song in the dark
and he does drift off at whim
and when he can't get inside here
instantly
goes off looking for
somewhere that will accept him
and so far the whole world accepts him

Funny if strangers
found a stack of money
that fell out of a Brinks truck
they would keep it'
but if they find a kitten '
which is so much more valuable
they will always always phone here
and arrange a surrender
without any hint of subtrafuge
best wishes only it seems
whew
always a close call with that small red cat
coyotes or not


I live an exceptionally rich life
with all this late night kitten traffic
who needs cable?


 

previous - next

 

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!