Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

Monday, Apr. 30, 2007 - 7:51 p.m.


heres what happened with Jinky
on a Monday and its not even noon..

I wake up to being bitten,
Jinky wants to play.
I get up and feed him and
then he runs outside
to visit the construction guys w
orking on the house
across the street,
They hail him
as their regular on site observer,
he seems to love
the sound of machines making noise,
men shouting and
materials being smashed around,
then he disappears to where i don;t know,
I am able to get some work done.
As I see my neibour,
ancient Ted drive in his driveway
i go over and
help him unload his truck.
Ted had a series oif strokes this winter
andhas not got all his strength back.
Ted adores Jinky and
lets him in his house
and they watch TV at night.
Ted feeds Jinky bacon
from his own sandwich.

Then Ted and me sit
on his sunporch
so he can tell me about his doubts
about medical science
and theshare his keen insight
about the world as
he has seen it take shape since 1930.
In exchange
I share the recent histronic events
I can barely stand to keep up with�
and we compare the
swindle factor
and the degree of good human nature
that seems to squeeze by the obstructions
that the government presents .

As we yak the sliding door opens-
his neibour Mary Ann, a retired furrier
is there with Jinky in hec arms,
he has been interfering with her gardening�
and so she decided to drop Jinky off at Teds
so she can get some work done.
She seems surprised that I am there,
and hands Jinky over to me.
Ted� mentions that he has to
go out to lunch with his son
so I might as well take my own cat home.
just this once,
I see now that Jinky has a
regular circuit of dedicated admirers
who each give him an hour of attention
every day.
They love him unconditionally,

So this is where he goes
when he disappears.
However he is known as Pumpkin there,
only I call him Jinky
Everybody else refers to him as
" the little red cat "

They all notice he has no collar on today'
ya I say, he gets one naked
day a month and its today.
Tonight his collar and bell goes back on.


This afrternoon
Jinky is at the end of the driveway
watching cars go past,
waiting for the school bus and the dozens of adoring hands that will
emmerge from its when the kids step out.

yesterday,. Sunday
I was visited buy my friend Annie
and her two little daughters
who I call the Butterfly sisters .
I have not seen them since last summer,
they are summer visitors
I am training the girls to be
expert butterfly wardens,
We hunt for butterfly eggs a
nd raise them like silkworms,
and then release a dozen or more
Monarch Butterflys each year
since the se fine girls were toddlers.
They are expert butterfly people,
college level and they
are only 10 and� 7

as we stood on the driveway
with the Butterfly Sisters
I mentioned I had a kitten now a
nd the girlsasked to see him.
All I could do was whistle
but that was enough--
from way way up the street
a little red dot came rushing towards us
, Jinky ran as fast as he could
from as far away
as he could hear me
and ran right up
to the girls as if by magic
and� he let them maul him sight unseen ,
and get passed around like a loaf of bread.
He is indeed
the friendliest cat
in the world.
They loved him instantly
Now this afternoon I learn from a friend
of a friend that Jinky will follow anybody
pushing a baby carriage
and if invited
jump right inside for a ride
On the weekend
he apparently rode
quite some distance with a Mom
and a little daughter to their obvious delight Ay the ened of their journey, that is
when they got home they let him out and he hung around untill suppertimer
where he crashed their neibours Bar B Q
he spent the evening there
amongst the happy hands
waving tid bits of meat
the people had their own cats
bu they did not come out
to join in the celebrations Tpodfay as i sit here typing a car slows down down out front and a lady wearing all green with green earings walks up
with a red jinky in her arms
now, today is Jinkys naked day'
he is not wearing his collar
but she knows him as that little red cat
and hands him over
he had walked right into her house
made friends with her cat
and stayed for dinner

thery live a few blocks away
and had heard, from various sources
that this is the home
of the ever wandering friendly little red cat
she laughed to learn his name is Jinky
but she loved him
and thought he was the nicest cat
she had ever met
and she has cats herself

The lady in green gave me
a little plastic bag of kitty crunchies
that he seemed to particularlily enjoy
He is now in his little box of towels
just beginning to fall asleep
he will soon be snoring

Thats just the last 24 hrs,
I am manager and lifestyle consultant
for a seven month old kitten
the star performer in this neibourhood
Nowhere do I go now
where people I don;t even know quizz me
about what is that little red cat up to now ?


 

previous - next

 

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!