Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

Friday, May. 11, 2007 - 8:25 a.m.

Sympathy for the Devil
************************

I now have a better idea of what
my long suffering neibours
have to put up with when Jinky visits.
I have heard many
good natured complaints that he
" interferes" with their work..
Their words
are softer
than their looks

After supper last night
I was helping my next door neibour
dig up old perrenial plants,
divide them and re plant them
to new locations in the yard.
As soon as the shovels came out
and the sound of turf being broken began,
.......Jinky joined us.

As I worked on all fours to clear debris,
-Jinky was in there swatting at leaves
and swimming between my knees and hands

As I worked the shovel to excavate,
- Jinky walked into the hole to look,
As I levered the garden fork
to pop a stubborn root ball,
-Jinky was in there too
darting his paws into the hole,
barely avoiding metal teeth of the fork
chomping at the clay.

Like.... anyone s a n e
could see
thats
not a safe
or rewarding place
to put your flesh...
in harms way and all
but that was lost on
-you know who.

As I placed rootballs in boxes
in preparation to move them,
-Jinky got in the boxes.
As I tried to remove excess soil from the plants,
-Jinky was swatting at my fingers
as i worked the s earth.
Whenever I tossed a pebble or acrorn
off to one side,
-Jinky would race out after it-
usually running right into what i was doing
to get there.
As I knelt to replant,
- Jinky grabed my dangling shoelaces
in his teeth and tugged till it became unloose,
and when that was done
stuck his nose in the hole I had just dug
to sniffed untill he was completely satisfied.

He is cute and interesting,
but a little annoying,
Actually
a lot annoying.
All my work mind was drained away
and I had to reconfigure my attention span
to watching him
and coming up with counter measures
against his constant reckless vandalism,

Ya. I can see now how
he is a hinderence
to anyone working outside.
I barely could imagine though
till I had to deal with him myself.

All winter long.
as soon as I got up off my chair
Jinky would jump up on my desk
and swat small objects
off onto the floor with his paw.
I wondered why my exacto knives
and pencils were always on the floor?
But then, he was doing this to apple cores
and address books as well..
I knew for sure he was doing this mischief
when I came back into the studio
while he was grunting to shoulder
a pocket dictionary off the cliff
and into my trash pail.

......Sabotage

Yes, I have a vandal cat
and all I can do is wait for him
to outgrow these tendencies
or failing that,
drug him with catnip
so I can get some work done.

I can hear the sound of
a lawnmower start up
elsewhere in the 'hood
I know Jinky is outside
as I let him out to play
before I started work
. I can just imagine him
over there now,
jogging beside the roaring machine,
chasing the pieces of flying lawn,
patiently waiting for the job to be over
so he can harass the poor guy
raking it all up .

 

previous - next

 

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!