Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

Friday, May. 25, 2007 - 9:05 p.m.

Heaven has many Mansions
*****************************

Tonight I took Jinky
down to the lake again
it had rained earlier this evening
so there were hardly any dogs
because their owners
don't to go out in the wet
so we had the entire beach to ourselves
and Jinky could race the entire length
till he reached the wrought iron fence
where the beach ends
and the mansion area starts
Jinky just slid between the rungs
and walked onto the posh lawn
took a drink out of their fountain
and then padded along the porch
till he came up to the screen door
' I stayed on the public side of the fence
and watched as he sniffed at the screen door
til I herard a voice from within say
"Oh a pussy cat;
hello there pussy cat..
how did you get here?"
the door swung open
and the lady welcomed Jinky and
said more inaudible
nice things to him
as he swam between her anklesat this point I spoke up and said thats my cat
and is he bothering you
"oh no " the lady replied
" is he usually this friendly?"
" oh yes", I said," he is always this friendly " " But there is a dog living in here. can't he tell theis is a dogs home ?"

"Oh yes; but he is not afraid of anybody or anything "

somehow the conversation
swung around to her dog,
who was upstars
still not recovered
from the shock of
the fireworks on the weekend'
"Teenagers" she scolded
" have no idea how their
firecracker antics upset animals"

I almost said Jinky loves explosions,
but this was her sad dog that needed comforting,
I bet almost as much as she did..
There was some vague man indoors
who then came outside to join us
but he had I think zero social skills.
."Are you coming back inside? are you? Are you?" was all he said..

one of the most beautiful nights
in the year and he wanted
to be indoors with whatshername..
no wonder her dog is neurotic..
theres no hope for the guy
or the dog
but there is hope for the nice lady..

so she followed Jinky around
her formal gardens
as I looked on. She took great delight in his curiosity
as if her own
was suddenly awakened

Jinky looked in the reflecting pool
and sniffed at
the bronze sculpture of the turtle..
and swatterd at the nets the lady
had her gadeners put over her roses
to keep the birds off

at this point the same boring man
came out again this time
holding a martini glass
" Are you coming out or shall I bring this to you?"
the lady seemed embaressed
that a mere martini
had come between her
and the reawakening
of natural curiousity

well she picked him up
handed him to me over the fence
and whispered
" I saw you and Jinky on the beach the other day..
how _do you get a cat to follow you?"
I replied.."
" I go where he goes
and sometimes he goes where i go.
It just looks like he is following me
i am following him half the time.."
she laughed and said
" isn't that the truth? "

so I waved Jinkys paw
and made her laugh some more
and not before she invited him back
any time he wanted to visit..
Imagine Jinky being invited
to visit the martini people
in their mansion
overlooking the lake ?
I will have to get him
a better collar
and show him how to
mix cocktails
with his tail

 

previous - next

 

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!