Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

Sunday, May. 27, 2007 - 8:01 a.m.


Sundays Cat is Full of Grace
*****************************


It rained like a Mofo last night
humidity was so thick
i had to get up and turn on the fan
it felt like the air had turned to syrup
and I had used up
all the oxygen around my bed

then the phone rang early
ohh ohh real early
did some relative die in the night
or are the Jehovah Witnessess
finally telemarketing?

Its the motel at the edge of town
Mr Jinky is over there
hanging around the kitchen
begging bacon

I agree to go over and fetch him
and as I open my door
into the dewy greyness
of Sunday morning there,
parked on a 45 degree angle
on my driveway,
is pal Matts car
..very unusual..
I last saw him yesterday shopping
for his High Schools 50th Anniversary Event
held in the hockey arena
I never went to that school
but everybody else for miles here did

I looked in the window and there they were
Matt & Alissa absolutely wrecked
hungover slumped looking sore
pale, puffy and pained
panting for air in this great humidity
slack jawed like trouts out of water

Alissa stirred a little
so I tapped on the window
she managed a brave little wave
I asked if she wanted coffee
I was going to pick up Jinky
Id get them some coffee from Tim Hortons
she gave a a brave little nod

Meanwhile at the motel
I walked round to the back
to kitchen receivables
there was a brick propping the kitchen door open to get some air in busy kitchen
on a Sunday morning in May

and I yelled in
" Woooo Is there a little red cat in here?"
Jinky bursts out smiling at me
and then the door swings open wider
and a smiling Mom kind of lady
in a white kitchen outfit
says
" yes hes here, and hes adorable"
ya thats my Jinky allright
who was by now sniffing a discarded pizza slice
on the driveway
which, I suspect
attracted him to the kitchen door
and then inside the kitchen
to inspect the bacon production
even though
he has lots of proper food at home
" Is he always this friendly ? " she asks
" yes he is, with me, with you with everybody " i say
and then away we go..
Jinky home delivery by bike
with two take out coffees
in a paper bag
in my mouth

Meanwhile, back at the driveway
Matt & Alissa are stirring in the car
they are on about 5% of normal emo energy and Matt starts to tell me about
all the drunken revelry Alissa tells me there was nobody her age there
just, you know
fat old people
who needed a memory fix
fat people dancing
to a live band who played
old rock standards
...stairway to you know where..

Jinky walked on their car
and sniffed in the window
wondering why his friends there
were not overjoyed to see him they were both wondering how they were going to
make it into work today'
they were absolutely poisoned and dying
Matt, is a haze asked me
to call his cell phone
which he believed was lost
somewhere inside his car I dailed his number and some strange guy answered
" yes, whos this? "
I said i was calling a friends cellphone
to see where it ended up from last night
the guy on the line said
he found the phone
in a parking lot last night
and come and get it
I wrote down his address
its not far from here

Alissa was looking not her best in a hurry
so i suggested she come inside
and have a long annonomous hot bath
.............Right now
Alissa is floating in my bathtub
praying for healing before she goes in to work
Matt is still passed out in his car
praying for healing before he goes to get
his phone and head off to work
Jinky is walking around the neibourhood interfering with people
working in their gardens
I am having tea
waiting for Alissa to finish her bath
so i can use the can

I am eyeing a cedar hedge
in case she falls asleep in there


 

previous - next

 

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!