Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

Friday, Jun. 01, 2007 - 6:12 p.m.

Cats Will be Leopards
***********************

Nice weather at night now
the chill is gone
so Jinky sleeps during the day
awakens in the late afternoon'
slumps around doing nothing
amusing himself
and goes out at dusk
somewhere
anywhere
persuing his cat destiny

and then sort of wanders
back home at dawn and
naps in my sweater drawer
til I get up to welcome the new day
with a can opener
and a can of catfood

I can her his bell tingling
as he enters the house at 5 am
hear him eat crunchies in the dark
flop into the drawer
and then his long yawn & siiiiiiiiiiiiigh
before he falls asleep

but today he decided
he was gonna be a funny guy at 5 am
sneaks up to me in bed
me asleep
and bites me hard
on the dangling forearm
two crazy jaws worth of action
clamping down
I guess thats pretty funny
in the catworld
but it flipped me out
I turned on the light
and he was still actively biting me
crazy eyed with delight
of having such handy easy meat
and saw my own blood flowing

in an instant I flung him off me
and he went sailing across the room
like a tumbling red brick
and landed
three metres away
with an uncomforttable thud

wow!! that was new
me using my big person strength
against the crimsom avenger
and not holding anything back
in the middle of unchallenged biting festival

suddenly I was big and he was small
he had bit me to bleeding while asleep
and i had reacted automatically
from a laying down position
with but a fraction of my physical power
and I had not gotten angry with him
-- just reacted
- like an animal

Jinky looked at me wild eyed shaking
as if I was going to finish him off
worried that he was indeed, this time
going to get finished off
.. but no
I spoke nicely to him
and beconed him in our friendly loving way
to join me on the blanket of joy
no hard feelings

he sort of crept up
looking a bit guilty
but just a bit
and rubbed against my outstrecthed fingers'
to show he understood
he had gone a bit too far
and that we should resume our normal
100% 24-7 normal state of
perpetual kindness exchange


so maybe the days
( and nights ) of biting people are over

that would be
a miracle
I could live with
I guess its part of growing up
bite the one you love
til they trash you
and everybody can relax
knowing exactly
just how much power
we are _not excercising
over our loved ones

 

previous - next

 

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!