Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

Sunday, Jun. 03, 2007 - 5:53 p.m.

Aqua Cat Mystery
*******************

Since Jinky went on his little
kayak ride the other day
I have heard several
crazy comments at Tim Hortons from people
I hardly even know
" So your cat rides in his own Pharoh barge?
- no it was a kayak
" Hey I heard your kitten can paddle a mean canoe.. is it true? "
-no he had a ride in a kayak
" So and so told me your cat can swim.."
- no he was a passenger in a kayak
and so on
his afinity to water is curious though
he doesn't seem to mind getting wet I have seen him fall into a bathtub
( I was bathing in at the time)
when he was very small
but I scooped him out
and toweld him off
and he came right back
to the slippery edge of the tub
to watch me splash around
but thats not exactly swimming

This morning at 5 am
' he jingled in to the house here
and pushed his nose into my armpit
I reached out in the dark to pat him
and his fur was wet..
I found this to be strange
but not other worldly
dismissed it as
probably Jinky just walked into
the path of an operating lawn sprinkler
and went back to sleep
a few hours later I got up
and Jinky wss dry and yawning
he had gone back to sleep himself
and air dried rather nicely
and was now ready for his breakfast
fed, he zooms outside on a hot muggy morning
and half hour later a strange van
pulls into the driveway
and Mom person with two little kids
opens the sliding panel door
to let Jinky out
I thank them for delivering him home
and look down at him
and can see that he is wet again

Wet?
again?
twice on a dry day in June?
record hot night last night
soil in the rototilled backyard here
is powdery dry
dry as a desert
heat wave just kicking in
and my cat come home twice
soaked.. completely wet

how did he do that?
has he been swimming ?
I waill have to ask everybody
with a fountain
pond or
swimming pool
if theyt have ever seen
my little red cat completely
submerge himself

I know he was recently introduced to
the benifits of getting wet
jumping from the kayak to shore
and I know he has never experienced
the full impact of hot weather
because he was born in the fall
and he is not at ease
with this great and sudden heat
and flops down on a cool
ceramic tile
to gasp for air at ground level
when it gets to be
road tar melt temperatures

Has Jinky discovered swimming?

the evidence points in that direction
but till I see him jump in water
of his own accord with my own eyes

i will imagine that
he just sweats a lot

Enough to completely
soak himself to the skin
..twice in one day


"Absence of evidence is not evidence of absence"

 

previous - next

 

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!