Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

Tuesday, Jun. 05, 2007 - 11:30 a.m.


Jinky & the The Unspeakable
*****************************

It rained last night
and a dry furred Jinky
spent the night inside
snboozing on a sweater
indoors without event..
I fed him and outside he went
into the overcast
cool windy morning

I heard birds making a fuss
and looked outside
there... on the moist dark
rototilled backyard was Jinky
playing a deadly
paw and bite game with
a nervous striped brown
little creature underfoot ..
...oh no !
.........a chipmonk

In three seconds
- I was out the door
with an empty waste paper basket
- divided the two ferocious animals
- hustled the chipmonk
into the wastepaper basket
as Jinky lunged at us both
in a angry frenzy
and then 911 raced the small striped one
into the house..
for safekeeping
from first witness of chipmonk harm
to having him safe inside here
was less than 30 seconds

I am proud today of my
St Johns Ambulance training
I knew practising on humans
would prepare me
to one day
serve a wild chipmonk

The CM is in a darkened box
left completely alone
to get over his shock
and as soon as I hear him stirring
which would suggest he is ok
and seeking his freedom
I will let him go

As for the Scarlet Avenger..
the unvarnished aggressor
in this drama
|I gave him hugs
an extra breakfast
and some milk to distract him
while Mr CM de-wonks
in yonder wastepaper basket

the wind is making the trees sing
its cool and fresh and fetching out there
...in due time
- the CM will be returned to his home planet
- Jinky will set off for some other absurd adventure
- and i will do laundry

a perfect world
still requires a rinse cycle

 

previous - next

 

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!