Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

Wednesday, Jun. 06, 2007 - 9:36 p.m.

Fur Whom the Bellw Told
**************************

As I was exiting Tim Hortons today
an older lady I barely know
approached me and asked
if the little red cat was mine?
yes , its Jinky
what did he do now?
oh no
hes fine very nice and polite
but if I was wondering
where he goes
he comes to her house
to visit her old red cat

she tells me that Jinky
loves her cat
and the two of them stare
at each other
and spend
quality time together on her porch
where the old red cat spends
almost all his time
its as if the old red cat was
instructing the young red cat Jinky
in the ways of cats
putting through his excercises
drilling him oin his skills and ability:

- how to catch the elusive Chipmonk
- how to swim in hot weather
_ how to spook dogs on leads
- how to mooch a ride home at night

passing down some sort of legacy
I learn today that Jinky
has been crossing the highway
to visit his old red teacher friend
for at least three months

The lady told me
she will not let Jinky in her house
or feed him but poibnts out
if he comes over
and the old red cat is asleep inside
Jinky will sit exactly on the old cats
favourite spot on the porch chair
and wait patiently for him to come out
sometimes for hours
hoping his great friend
the old red cat appears.

She has seen Jinky waiting
in the rain
and at night
and she sometimes has to
shush him away home
because her old red cat
has retired for the night
and won;t be coming out

when Jinky has been waiting a long time
and her old red cat finally comes out
Jinky is overjoyed to see him
but does not sniff wrestle bite or touch
the elder red cat

well at least I know where he goes
...sometimes
when he races away
and disappears
as if he was on a mission

I wonder what cats talk about?
a cool old red cat
and a crazy young red cat
do they each know
that they
both have
wonderful red fur?

 

previous - next

 

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!