Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

Monday, Jun. 11, 2007 - 6:03 p.m.


Hero of the Beach
******************

My friend Sarah came over
after her shift in workhell
to help me eat up
the rest of the
leftover feast vegetables
and as a bonus,
she brought
along a few frozen Veggie Burgers
no matter how much I coaxed him
offering choice tidbits
Jinky was not interested
in a fake piece of meat

afterwards as I was making tea
I stupidly l reached through
the steam cloud
of the boiling kettle
I got an instant nasty steam burn
on my tender white inside wrist
I could smell myself cooking
i smelled a little like corned beef
and was soon rather scarlet there
in no time a huge water blister formed
so i wrapped myself up
and went on living

we all walked down to the lake
to enjoy the sunset
Sarah, JJnky & me

Sarah thoughtfully
brought her camera
and let me shoot Jinky
as evidence
that he will walk right in the lake
and stroll along the wet shoreline
to step into the shallow water
swat at the waves
sniff at the algae
manouver around boulders
and march along
huge naked washed up tree trunks

Jinky was glad for the extra attention
that a camera offered
and took delight in how cool
and pleasant it was
at the waters edge

all notions of time disappear
when everything is so wonderful

streetlights went on
and the bugs came out
so we went back home
Jinky following but he tended to
stray onto the road
more often
than was
a good idea

Sarahs Mom stopped
to pick her up and drive her back
into the heart of the farm country darkness
where the wild coyotes roam
and the orchards, in season
groan with their loads of golden fruit

I looked at my steam burn
it was a major owie
the blister was a wet itchy
2 and a half inch disc
and I remembered
from St Johns Ambulance
to never pop a steam burn blister
just let whatever nature does
take care of it

In walks Jinky
fresh from hunting moths
by porchlight
he decides to be a funny guy
and sneaks up on me
jumps in my lap
feighning affection
but secretly
wants to bite me
In a flash he power knaws
my exposed wrist
right on the steam blister

it breaks
and a flood of blister fluid
squirts all over him
all over me me
and all over the keyboard

I let whatever nature decided
take care of me
and nature _bit me
and I leaked
all over everything

I was glad that the pressure
subsided of its own will

Jinky licked his lips
this was almost
as tasty as my blood
and he almost seemed to ask
" Was there any more ? "


 

previous - next

 

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!