Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

Thursday, Jun. 21, 2007 - 5:31 p.m.

God Spelled Backwards
************************

My friend sarah hates her job
and when she is done her shift
she often drops over here
so that she has a healthy place
other than the bar
to wait for her ride home from her Mom

at the air conditioned bar
she will just get loaded
spend all her money
& be in the company of assholes
she can save a fortune here
and access our low priced assholes

so we went for a walk
down to the lake
to celebrate Friday
and the end of crap job
for another few days
this one time
without Jinky
hes too stiff
to go very far today

it was not as exciting there
without a kitten to play with
dodging the dogs
and old people
with plastic bag in hand
waiting for their poodles
to freshen up on the lawn

Not to complain
but a Great Lake
without Jinky
is just l.ike any Great Lake
short one kitten

So we sort of just
wandered through the meadow
above the beach
and out through the parking area
Where some athletic fit
well groomed older guy
changing into his jogging shoes
caught my eye
and we exchanged beige vague hello s
and then he asked me
"where's your little dog?'

My dog?
"yes" he assured me
" don't you have that
little red puppy
that i see you
walking with
on the beach "

Oh,, thats my cat

"your C_A_T ?"
scowled the man
knitted his forehead
into a knot of disbelief
and wagged his finger
as if greatly displeased
that I was making fun of him
after all his initial good vibes

but at that point Sarah laughed out loud
and cried out breathlessly
JINKY IS HIS CAT
HIS RED CAT
"really?" gasped the man
" that was a cat? a _CAT ? "

ya, he follows me
and then i follow him
then i ride him home on my bike
and we come down here
as often as
weather
and dogs density permits

"you are training a cat to follow you
and go into the water? "

ya well the swimming will get better in July
but he seems to like the water a lot
he has had a ride in a kayak
"So I heard ...
but we thought it was a tiny red dog "

nope, I arranged for my cat
to experience a kayak on the water
and he seems to like that as well

JINKY BETTER LEARN TO SWIM
IF HE"S GONNA GO KAYAKING
shouted Sarah

poor guy
didn;t know
whether to believe us
or not
but I guess
he'll find out
soon enough that Jinky is a cat
and not that other D animal
he is occasionnally mistaken for

You can lead a cat to water
but you can't make him into a dog




 

previous - next

 

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!