Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

Saturday, Jul. 14, 2007 - 10:00 p.m.


The Last Supper
********************

Its hot as a baked potaoe out there
well what do I expect
for the height of the sizzle season July??
I have been living on watermelon
& homemade juice freezies for three days
I think I have lost 4 kilos of weight in sweat
in the last 72 hrs alone
all the wooden doors here
stick in the frames
we tried to light a fire
down on the beach after midnight
and found it difficult
as all the beach wood was wet from the great humidity
and even scrap paper was too damp to take a flame

squirrels just lay on branches by day gasping for air
the birds don't fly in the sky during the heat of the day
you can see lawns brown off
right before your eyes

Jinky seems to have gone into hibernation during the day'
and at night slinks off into the darkness somewhere
to find relief where he can find it
after dark I take a little rug outside
and just lay on it
as friends drop by to chat after dark
they slump into a folding chair
and look down at me
as we converse
as if this was a funeral
and i was the guest corpse stretched out
even Dr Freud provided a couch for his nutcases
so Im not mentally ill
- just presumed dead
nice to know

the question all ask me is
"Hows the red kitten? "
I whistle for him
and Jinky rises up yawning
from the neibours porch
& sort of strol s by to see what we are doing

" You gotta cut out
any canned soft food for cats
in this weather
it gets instantly full of fly eggs-
feed them crunchies only
or they get sick"

.........good insight
I just feed him crunchies
because hes not always around
at classical meal time

....I also learned
"Grown up cats don't drink water at home
they get it somewhere else-
who knows where
but you will hardly ever see
a cat drink water at home"

........... another wonderful insight I can't recall Jinky
drinking any of the water I give him
he prefers fresh bathtub water with me in it as a garnish
lakewater smoothies with all natural crap
or puddles that form on driveways from lawn sprinklers

as we discussed cat nutrition
Jinky starts to barf on the driveway
in two seconds he is emptied right out
and trots off the drink from the neibours
little decorative fishpond
a quick inspection suggests
that Jinky has been eating a fly egg free diet
of clean yummy homestyle crunchies
and not sneaking on any recent gulps soft catfood
from some unauthorized pet feeding station
a rare view of a healthy cats digestive process in mid summer..
I might write a Phd thesis on it someday
I will never be accused of plagerism

I start to get up in order to
hose Jinkys gastric windfall
off the driveway
when he jogs back
to the scene of the upchuck
and merrily starts to eat it again
afterall - its his food
to do with as he wishes
whats a ten minute delay between friends?


how many times have I
dropped an apple on the ground
and picked it up
wiped off the grit
and began eating it again
without another thought ?
Nobody rose from a rug on the lawn
and came after _me with a hose

 

previous - next

 

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!