Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

Saturday, Jul. 21, 2007 - 10:25 a.m.

Cats Invented Europe
**********************

Its been busy here
with summer and all
various friends either happy
and progressing in life
or trying to kill themselves

This morning the phone rang at 8:30
seems Jinky was hanging around
a bed & breakfast operation
charming the guests
having their morning coffee and croissants
on the white wicker furniture
on the sparkling heritage porch
He was not begging for food or being a pest
but guilty of operating a cat circus
without permission
so the B&B operator, who apparently
disliked anyone upstaging
her lady abundant act on her own turf
called in the heat ( me )
to take Jinky away and I did.
He got tuna and a back rub here
but he seems to be disappointed
his act was cancelled
just as he was cracking the breakfast circuit

Last night at sunset
we were down at the lake beachcombing
and avoiding dogs
when I smelled pipe tobacco
it was my old pal Spike
the retired Jazz musician
in town visiting mutual friends
he heard that Jinky & me
were regular features at the lake after 7 pm
and came to find us
we congressed at a pic nic table
to catch up on ouir mutual adventures
I encouraged little kids lingering nearby
to play chase with Jinky
so I could rap in with Spike
within eyeshot of the cat olympics
they ran him ragged for an hour
he broke two sticks
before the streetlights came on

the evening before Jinky crashed
a European night pic nic on the beach
- where the old people got drunk
and talked about the past
- the middle aged people cooked meat
and talked about money and business
- the young women wore summer long dresses
& danced to soft music in shallow water
- and the kids played soccer
and talked about school and Harry Potter
Jinky seemed to find value
in every aspect of their celebration
and via his abundant inheirant cuteness
i was invited to join in
wine, soccer. meat or dancing-
I settled for some cherries
and some orange juice

The day before that
I came upon Jinky at dusk a block away
wrestling with four other young cats
on someones front lawn dashing in and ouit of shrubs
leaping at each other
and tumbling
the sheer delight of cats
with other cats
just because they are cats
made me think that this world
has more surprises in it
than I was ready to admit

Cats at a party by the beach
cooking & eating birds
playing with string balls
dancing in long dresses
chewing catnip and dreaming together

I bet cats Invented Europe
and people just copied them




 

previous - next

 

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!