Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

Monday, Jul. 23, 2007 - 11:52 a.m.


Motorhead Cats for a Better World
***********************************

Me - sitting on a bench in the front at twilight
Jinky- chilling under a bush across the street

scenerio: I watch my neibour start his noisy gas powered weed wacker to tidy up his driveway.. the sound of the motor sputting excites Jinky who stirrs and sniffs the wind for one of his favourite smells-- .............motor exhaust

I can see him sneaking up on the source of the sound.. I can see the weed wacker and Jinky.. but Jinky can;t see the weed wacker and doesn't notice me..Its obvious now he has attached some significance to loud motors, as if they are big game screaming out for a battle and he was the only one smart enough to investigate..

Then pal Alfred drives up on his motorcycle-- the pum pum pum of his finely tuned machine is louder than the weed wacker.. Kinky terns his attention to the blue vintage motor cycyle that has appeared on his own driveway-- and watches in fascination Neiboy-ur sees the b=vintage bike and walkks across the street to admire it up close-- carrying inb his hand, a live weed wacker..

Jinky cannt belive his good luck- two noisy motors converging on his own driveway.. he could easily wrestle them both down and eat their metal meat for the rest of the summer,.. we foolish hum,ans still can't grasp the value of these beomoths we lead around.. so he activatesa all his latent saber tooth tiger DNA and creeps up to the vehicular chaos .. eyes like saucers fur standing on end

at once he leaps at the fender of the bike and at the same time whirls around to see if the weed wacker has escaped,, no they are both his..
the guys are taking bikes and I am watching my kitten attack their macvghines.. I call out to him
" Jinky_ don;t bother my guests" but he won;'t heed me.. he walks eight up to the weed wacker and I can see the impure discharge blowing his fur back.. any normal animal would have run away but Jinky seems to like a two stroke engine overwhelming his senses and a face full of carbon monoxide..


I know of no other animal who seems to love noisy machines as much as my little red kitten. Where he learned to love them I will never know, I certainly did not expose him to the wonders of the internal combustion machine. I think we have a whole new wave of animal behaviour-- as people reach the peak of their love affair with gasoline engines.. cats are stepping in
Animals may have a natural fear of fire, but there is nothing about them l and machinery. Cats and noisy machinery: the genisis of a global movement. I have a cat pioneer living here

 

previous - next

 

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!