Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

Friday, Aug. 10, 2007 - 8:15 p.m.

August Moon
**************

Sitting here enoying peaches
when a small car pulls up in front
the car door opens
and a little girl in a red bathing suit steps out
tenderly holding a wiggly red bundle
its Jinky_
I recognise his tail
hes been awol for two days
I recognise the driver of the car
as the nice lady
who had Jinky for four days
in the winter
and her three little daughters
named him Pumpkin
and they just loved him..
a visitor to their house recognised
their magnificent Pumpkin
as Jinky the absent
who was currently missing from my place
and the good family
brought him back here

when that family passes by
even now
they will wave at either the house
or at me
or at Jinky
or any combination of the above

I ran out and took delivery of Jinky
and chatted with the driver
though the car window
and joked with her little daughters
who were holding
a large basket of tomatoes between them
likely from their own garden
I learned they had entertained Pumpkin
for two days in their yard
played with him
and gave him water
but no food-
in case that would make their real cat
insanely jealous


Obviously Jinky had a great time there
being loved by several pairs
of adoring hands
and gorging on tap water
because as we chatted
he was trying his hardest
to jump from my arms
back inside the car and rejoin the girls
and their cargo of scarlet ripe tomatoes

This made everybody laugh
then they waved and drove away...

Jinky was furious
that I had not let him ride
into the sunset with his fans
and swished his tail in sheer spite
and crabby growled at me
so I let him down
and began to salute him
and welcome him back home
gently patting his head

he would have none of that
ran off then ran back
to my bare foot
and swatted at me with his paw
a couple of times
and then ran off across the lawn
He stared at me
for several uneasy minutes
blinking and sighing
avoiding my direct glance
Then he began to lick his feet
with uncharacteristic vigour
and when completely groomed
sashayed back to swim against my ankles.. He followed mr in
and sat patiently
as I opend a can of Tuna catfood
and gave him a big helping'

he chowed it down
as if he hadn't eaten in two days
and when he was finished
walked over to see me
sitting at my desk reading
and sort of swam my ankles
one more time for good measure

If those girls
ever get ahold of
tuna flavoured catgood
He'll be gone
- but-
Jinky would likely
run away from them
and hang out here
for two days at a time
Like what's the difference?


I.m the only one
who knows what
I.m looking for...
Why would it be
any different
for Jinky?


** according to my calculations: Jinky is one year old today _ August 10, 2007

 

previous - next

 

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!