Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

Friday, Aug. 17, 2007 - 7:03 p.m.

Partying with the Enemy
*************************


I haven't seen the Scarlet Avenger all day
he will usually pop in
mid afternoon
check his food and
see what I'm doing and
then slip back outside
but not today

I wonder if he is over yonder
- at the four alarm drunk fest
its gonna bbe full of animals by dark

the people on the next street over
are getting ready for their annual
huge loud drunken back yard party
Its only once a year
and in afree country
you should be able to do
anything you want
on occassion

The shift workers don;t care
and the old people
just turn up their TVs
everybody else is either at the party
or ay another party somewhere else
our little town was completely out of i
ce and mixers by 4 pm
I think this weekend
is gonna be
an alcohlic shangra la

all afternoon long the amplified sound of
check-
1-2-3-4
check
1-2-3-4

for their grown up sons'
cover band-
last year they did
old TV show theme songs
as fdrunken revellers hooted in recognition
I wonder if they will do
great TV commercials from the 80s and 90s
this year ?
something normal people can recognise
ance drunk to
and remember some of the words to-



The party people's house
is the most duded up
outside light display at Christmas
for 100 miles
they are trying to make a statement
twice a year
I could smell them starting the Bar B Q early
to feed the prep team
as they set up

rumour says
they have either a whole pig to roast
or a side of beef the size of a four year old child
the simile of choice:
free meat the size of a preschooler
and if the last two years parties
are any indicator ,
more beer wine and weed wiull be available
than normalacy vcan account for


Right now the air is alive with noise
good natiured yelling
tent pegs being hammered in
cars honking-
dogs barking

and the smell of meat roasting
joins the aromascape of my neibours
freshly varnished deck

oh- someone drunk
is singing into a microphone at ground zero
unaccompanyioed by any other music
most of the performance is fuzzy
but I can pick out the chorus
"Oh baby"
very clearly
from two blocks away

maybe Jinky is over there
- if he is
he is old enough
to drink whatever he is offered
and fight dogs
for hot dog scraps

the drunk soloist
still without a band
to smother his offkey crooning
has started to sing " Rocky Racoon "
that old beatles song
38 years old !

If Rocky racoon shows up here
and starts to wreck my kitchen
I will paddle his striped ass with a broom

and to think I got a cat
to protect me from racoons
and here he is
at a party with them
on a perfect Friday evening in August

 

previous - next

 

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!