Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

Thursday, Aug. 30, 2007 - 9:05 p.m.

Fresh Batteries
***************

Astoundingly beautiful day
cool sunny fresh did my work
and then came home
and when Jinky begged me
for the trip down to the lake early
as it was so perfect
too perfect
to be indoors for any reason
I had to go along with his suggestion

when we got there the place was crowded
with a lot of other people and their dogs
who had the same idea
we just have to find
a more private access to the lake
than the overcrowded dog park

so down the iron stairs
to the lake below
with the tangerine and pink coloured
sweet water waves
lappng at the sandy beach
cormorants diving for fish in the distance
minnows everywhere in the shallow water
the first purple asters starting to flower
.......goodbye summer


a mixed family group with five tiny kids
strolled past us
looking for adventure
and they all ran after Jinky
the only cat in the world of dogs and adults
but he could easily outrun them
and dash up the breakwater cliffs
and stand defiant on the boulders
looking down at his preschool vassals
red fur blowing in the breeze
like a sand lion lord

then the lazer pen kids walked past
they were sort of hoping
we would be there again
the guy with the red kittne
they were dressed a little nicer than usual
I asked why looking so sharp
and they said their Nana died
and their Mom dressed them nice today
and there were people at their house right now packing up nanas things
and that tomorrow they had to go back home
to where they really lived
and get ready to go back to school
grades five, four and three respectabaly

they were only at their nanas
for these last two weeks
to be with her when she died
they were more confused than sad
but they had something for Jinky
a gift to remember them by

it was the lazer pen
and it worked again
with a new battery
a fresh battery had turned up
in nanas desk and uncle somebody
fitted it into the dead lazer pen for them

they were so glad
to have the lazer pen working again
it was the most fun
they had had all summer
and playing with Jinky
was the second best thing
they had done all summer

so they handed the pen over to me
to keep for him
but made me promise
not to shine it in his eyes
I promised as they took turns
hugging Jinky goodbye
and then they walked up the iron steps
and then back back home

Jinky and me watched the sun on the water
and when the streetlights went on
we went home
lazer pen in my shirt pocket

I hope that I never stumble
and shine it in his eyes


 

previous - next

 

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!