Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

Wednesday, Oct. 10, 2007 - 8:38 p.m.

Ghost Busters
****************
The good life,
as I conceive it,
is a happy life.
I do not mean that
if you are good you will be happy
- I mean that if you are happy you will be good.

...........................Bertrand Russel

*******

I went to the drug store this evening
on the way back from voting
I went there to see
if there was anything I needed
not anything in particular
just because I was in that part of town

I settled for halloween candy
because there was a big sale on
In line I chatted with my friend Brians Gramma
she laughed at me buying candy for $2
and her prescription was for $80

anything to feel good I always say t
hen she told me she can't sleep
at all-- for days at a time
she just lays in bed in the dark
staring ahead at nothing
as old memories and dreams swirl around her

she had been a nurse
and seen lots of people die
now she wonders where they all went
and how they got there
where her husband and sisters are
and when her turn is coming
she is sharp to remind me
her religion is the Liberal party
and she just voted for them, again,
same as she always has for 60 years..
just different idiots in charge of the world

so I mention to her to try ...valarian root
it will knock her out
"oh no, no heeeerbs thank you"
She showed me a new package of Sleepy Time tea
she was trying on her grand daughters suggestion
" this will do fine thank you "
I asked to read the ingredients
while we waited in line
and there it was
"Contains Valerian"
"How did you know that?"
she asked
I was raised by three eyed hippies
and homeschooled in a cave with bears

"no really?"

I pay attention to this herbal insight stuff
when it swirls by in books,
conversation or the internet
valerian will put you to sleep
I have seen it knock out cats
some plants are actually effective
but most are nothing special
it gives witches something to do
when Corronation Street is over

She had even tried pot she told me
her grandson ( Brian ) got her some
and showed her how to smoke it
she felt foolish, a _nurse __smoking
and it didn't make any difference
to her, and she knew about pills

pot was a lot of Hooey
Brian was a lot of Hooey
the Doctors were a lot of Hooey
I was a lot of Hooey
eveybody was a lot of Hooey

she was the only one in the world
who had it together
her and maybe Frank Sinatra
but big help he is these days

I wrote out the word " Valerian"
on a slip of paper and she took it home
and she will ask Hooey Brian to look it up
on his precious computer..
and maybe ask her daughter to
ask around the Mennonites
if they have some to spare
for an old lady who CAN"T SLEEP

the Mennonites are not Hooey people
she might get some satisfaction
and a break from the ghost parade
now thats ghost bustin"

- who you gonna call ?
call Brians cellphone

 

previous - next

 

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!