Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

Sunday, Oct. 21, 2007 - 9:24 p.m.

Golden Sunsets of Magical Indian Summer
******************************************


An exceptionally wonderful
sunny brisk lovely day in October
Oh we may not get any more of these
for six more months
so I cancelled everything
made up a lunch
of cheese, bread
and fresh picked Mitsu apples
whistled down Jinky
and waited for him to appear.
We were going to relax on the beach
and nothing was going to stop us

I whisteled for him again; louder and shriller
Three minuets later he was jingling,
walking towards me from atop
the high wooden fence
that the squirrels use
to cross the yard here
since the day Jinky moved in..
I had never seen him
walk that fence before
I was very impressed

For months he would watch the squirrels
walk this narrow guage
elevated rodent highway
where he couldn't approach them
from such a route of safety
they developed a rude response to him
whenever they spotted him in the yard
Jinky could only stare from below and desire.. or sometimes emit a low growl
if he saw the squirrels on the fence
from his spy port behind the window..

With Jinky now able to
freely navigate the squirrel highway
the squirrels position of
undisputed safety of passage
was now completely compromised-
right at the height of
the chestnut gathering season

the squirrels are now obliged
to take a very wide circuit
to reach their home in the pine tree from the chestnut grove across the highway.

They never suspected
that Jinky would actually be able
to navigate the fencetop
transportation corridor that has become so essential to squirrel society.
well surpise surprise

What can they do except outrun him now
when he appears on the fencetop rails
and maybe work even harder
to get in their winter supply of nuts
before he is able to catch them.

Work it out in nature animals-
its a beautiful day and i am taking
the Scarklet Avenger in person
down to the river
to run at large

Jinky always knows when we are
headed towards the river
his favourite destination
and is happy and compliant
as I ride him on my bike
tucked under my arm like a loaf of cat bread
As soon as I put him down at journeys end
he runs off and explores whatever he wants, and he may or may not join me
immediately at the waters edge
especially since the season of
washed up giant dead fish
is over fore the year

I was able to just stare and stare
at the horizon as the sun warmed my face'
egads! its been three weeks
since its been so mellow &sunny

I was able to pass
a blissful hour and a half
at the waterside
lost in thought
with the luxury of time
and a clear conscious to dream

Even in paradise the sun goes down
and I began my lazy search for Jinky
I could hear his bell ringing
as he dashed unseen
through the underbrush so i knew he was near but not too near
I called him
but he wouldn't come
I sought him out
but he slipped farther away
after fifteen minutes of coaxing
i spotted him
hiding under some leaves
staring at me like a leopard avoiding Tarzan
In a flash rushed at him
and tackled him to take him back
he squirmed and bit me
but thats all part of our game-
Tarzan gets ripped up by the wild leopard
and then they bike back together
to Tarzans place amongst the squirrels
and the Leopard gets fed Tuna

but as i stood up
I came up from underneath
a huge burdock bush
ripe with 10,000 brown burrs
I seemed to get 9,000 oif them
in my hair and into my sweater
and the other 1000 were stuck on Jinkys futr
we both realised that we would have a long evening of removing ten thousand burrs
from hair, fur and wooly sweater.. no problem except when i sat on the bike..
there were burrs on my bum
and Jinkys burrs
were starting to stick to the burrs
on my sweater
burrs upon burrs upon burrs
at least he wouldn't fall off the bike
he was stuck to me
like a huge sheet of red velcro back at home I fed him and then announced whe better get to work
so i dislodged his burrs
rather easily with a dinner fork
no scissors were required and at spare moments i struggled to pull the mass of burrs
from my own hair that was now as heavily burr matted as Bob Marley -
only i wasn't feeling very funky
Jinky licked himself clean
watching me bite the burrs out of my hair
and digging athem with a fork
Burrs are not the end of the world
I was able to free myself
in under 30 minutes.
and then sweep up the burr bits on the floor
from both Jinkly and me I was careful to toss every particle into thge fireplace
if squirrels ever found out that burrs
can bring us both down
then the animal wars outside will only get worse. I won;t say a word
and jinky has yet to say a word
if he ever does
I hope its not Burr!


 

previous - next

 

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!