Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

Thursday, Oct. 25, 2007 - 12:30 a.m.

Elvis Presleys never had such Loyal Employees
***********************************************

the after dinner walks on the beach
are about over
it's too cold
and the night starts early
that was all fine for summer
but its not working in October
I can understand and appreciate that

Jinky cannot understand or appreciate that
so after dinner he starts
to run wild in the house
knocking stuff over
leaping from shelves onto other surfaces
to get my attention
It does
I get annoyed
but i know he just wants some action who can blame him?
so in the late night after midnight
sometimes I walk to the
24 hr donuts shop just to look in
see that noting is happenbing
and then walk back again

Jinky follows me after midnight
and runs back and forth
across the empty highway
and up trees and looks in holes
and then we walk backhome
and do the same things in reverse order ya its something
just not much of anything
Jinky seems to accept this
as the new winter hours
beach replacement adventure

Last night I had to buy
contact cement at the little store
and figured well maybe Jinky
wil not notice me coating up
and I can just zip there and back no way he follows me up the street towards ther store
I scold him
but he ignores me
and parades around
looking for attention
from the outside world
the highway is full of traffic
I fear he will get hit
people are driving in and out of driveways
not watching for cats behind their wheels I get to the corner to cross and pick up Jinky so he won't get hit
and hes gone
I look back
and he's getting rubs
from girls going into the restaruant
and I figure he can stay there
with the girls
for three minutes
and get loved
and i will shop
and pick him up on the way back

On the way back hes not at the corner
' the girls are gone and so is Jinky So I whistle for him
and he doesn't show up

I give up after ten minutes
I am not gonna wait out a cat who knows his way home hes a whole year old he can go home when he is ready so i leave and walk back slowly always looking back to see if he is runningh my way

but no I rationalize that he knows his way home
but fear he will get run over on the highway
I hope I don't have to put up
with a lifetime of crazy kitten antics
rescue him from doom
or pick him up from
kind strangers across town
which is so inconvenient
doing it several times a week

not forever- not forever no no

he's one year old
he can come home
by himself I keep thinking this aloud
yet i don;t believe it

I get home and take off my coat the phone rings

" Hello"
the friendly voice says
" did you lose.."
I interupt them with
" a charming red kitten?" "YES the voice chirps
hes here at the restaurant
I bike over immediately

and present myself to the restaurant
a nice waitress
had seen Jinky sneak in the door
to follow the girls
who had been loving him
and she captured him
but unable to keep an animal
in a food service place
she wisely locked him
in her parked car out back

a make shift cat prison
She assures me
she loves cats to distraction'
and would have kept him
if i hadn;t answered the phone
on the first ring

as we walk outside
in the dark to free Jinky
the waitress uses her remote gadget
to turn on the lights
and unlock the doors
but ialso nadvertantly starts the engine
and the windshield wipers

this all car command
also starts her CD player
and out pours thumping heavy metal music

Jinky sticks his head up
and i can see him nodding
in the back window
of the waitress girls parked car
acting as if this was _his car
and this was _his parking spot
and this was _his favourire CD playing

we just laughed at his complete non challance
he had been locked in the car
for only twenty minutes
but he had made himself completely at home laying oh her hoodie on the front seat


the door opens
and Jinky steps out like a superstar
onto the pavement yawning
and walks over to me
and rubs his face on my ankles

I thank the nice lady
and grab him up
and ride him home in the dark
there is a lot of traffic on the highway
i guess theres a party
or a festival
or a meeting somewhere

to Jinky its his motorcade entourage
giving him cover
from the paparazzi
as he races to the airport
I am his bodyguard
trained to take the bullet
if theres trouble
from terrorists

safe back at home
Jinky just walks into the house
as if nothing had happened
thats a star for you' always cool
even after just being let of out jail

back to his girlfriends
and permanant feast
and regular attentions
by me..
his bodyguard lawyer chauffer

this crazy kitten stuff is not over
its just changing tempo


 

previous - next

 

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!