Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

Sunday, Nov. 18, 2007 - 5:09 p.m.


Anybody Wanna Buy a Cat a Drink ? 2
************************************

I have to seriously work on my life
it's so small and precious these days
one broken birthday party
can tear it apart

last night -
big hoopla
I decide to walk to get milk
at a quarter to 11
just before the little store closes
Jinky yawns and decides
to join me' and
scamper along the route underfoot
keep me company while chasing leaves
dodging cars and dogs
He is ready fior adventure

its all fun and easy till we get to
the corner itself..
where we see maybe eight
highschool girls
being kicked out of the sports bar
for attempting entry underage
They seem to be
pretty much drunk already
and as a girl party posse
they are pretty loud and bravdo-esque
insulting towards the agitated bouncer
who stands at the door
to bar any further attempts at entry

Jinky and me stare in disbelief
from our dark pathway
but mind our own business
and I pick him up at the intersection
and carry him across safely
and let him run across the tarmac
where he sniffs at the pizza shop door
and then follows me into the little store
where the night staff know us
and lets Jinky run around the empty store
sniffing things at random
standing up on his hind legs
to examine the sacks of dog chow
stacked up by the greasy bin
of dried pig ears
and smoke cured dog bones

While Jinky brouses
the animal by product dept.
I get milk from the big cooler
full of pop and luncheon meat
walk up to the cashier island where
the night clerk koos over Jinky
and lures him behind the counter
with promises of face rubs
he won;t follow me after a massage
so i pick him up and carry him outside

there out on the sidewalk
fumbling to light cigarettes
looking extreemly puffy drunk
were four of the girls
who had been refused service in the bar
they took one look at happy
Mr mischeif himself Jinky dancing around
outfront of the Saturday night convenience store
and the girl gang moaned collectively
"oh how cute !"
and fell over each other
to pick him up
pass him around like a prize
and rub him on every part
of his delighted little furry red self

One sidewalk wobbler was the birthday girl
herself wearing a crushed dollar store
sparkly tierra leftover from halloween
she din�t look one bit legal drinking age

Six happy hands working red fur at 11 pm
is a hard act to follow
so I had to pick him up again
and carry him away from
his intoxicated admirers
he didn't like this
and hissed at me
and attempted to swat me
with his angry front claws
while his back legs churned sharp fury at me
but I was wearing a winter coat
and didn't care

across the highway i put him down
and he ran off towards a gaggle of
still more drunken party girls
who were exiting the 24 hr donut shop
weaving back and forth with take out coffees

Jinky was feeling pretty special at this point
and as one lone drunk chick
opened the door from inside
to join her friends
Jinky runs inside ther donut shop
across the floor
and darts in behind the service counter
and into the backroom
where they make the donuts

I could not possibly have caught him
so i yell out
" hey my cat just ran in the back there, sorry"
I hear a disembodied voice reply
" what colour is he"
I guess there were several cats
in assorted colours back there
so I called out
" he's Red.. its Jinky.. sorry "
In a minute the nihght donut maker emmerged
holding one very confused Jinky in her arms
but she loves cats
and has seen Jinky in there before
and hands him over
and I leave the donut shop carrying Jinky
and a amimated sack of 3 bagged litres of milk

As we amble past the loitering girl gang
now re enforced by the addition of
the four vdrunken milk store smoker lurkers
all of them feisty and belicose
lingering on the sidewalk
outside ther donut shop
looking and acting
as dangerous as they can
on short notice

They reach to pat Jinky in my arms
and nearly pull my milk away
their breaths reeking of whatever booze
they were able to steal from their Dads
Tomorrows Mothers
have a lot of detoxing to do

Onwards! home we go
Jinky fidgetting in my arms
he really wants some attention
from that drunken maiden squad


the walk down the dark path home
was uneventful as Jinky paused
to chase leaves and crouch under bushes
to watch as cars passed
their highbeams bathing him in a swirl
of eerie halogen silver
he must have felt like
he was a run away zoo lion
and a thousand Mounties
were looking for him
before
he could ...
...slay again

As I stood there in the dark
swinging my milk bag
and waiting for Jinky�s
escape fantasy to subside
we could hear
the sound of feisty feet
kicking leaves
and chaotic voices swirling as one
approaching

Then a truck passed
and as its strong headlights
briefly lit the dark
I could see it was the drunken girl gang
approaching in the crazy Saturday night darkness
for some reason
they were headed
back to the bar
- a murkily lit low building
glowing in the distance
its parking lot full of pick up trucks
and rusty service vans
This was party central
and no bouncer or liquor control board
was going to cheat them out of
a hangover

as the girls crossed the highway
to storm the sports bar once again
jinky decided he was going with them
and rushed off and was soon
weaving in and out of their
drunken marching feet



More traffic came along
and i could not cross the highway
to retrieve him
and by this point the girls
recognised him as a tag along
kittie companion from thr donut shop
and howled in delight to see him join their
chick army on attack mode

There was no way whistling for him
would have any effect whatsoever
so i crossed over and
jogged to catch up with the birthday boozer platoon
and just before they reached the enterance door
i grabbed Jinky and jogged off again
as quickly as i could
him hissing in deep resentment
of me spoiling his fun-
AKA stopping him from running into the bar
where he would be immediately thrown out as
an underage / species non gratis

he was sure mad at me as i snatched him away
& for a whole block I carried him like grumbling groceries
as he hissed and spat in pure resentment
and clawed at my coat with a vengance

As soon as we were beyond view of the bar
I put him down
and he ran ahead
mooning me in unvarnished contempt
after a few minutes of this
ittle anger display he just ran away
and i walked home calling for him
in the dark
but never really expecting him to appear.

Back home i made midnight cocoa
and watched as the first snow of the year
started to fall in tiny sparce pellets
against the window
as the cold wind from the lake picked up force
and delivered winter here all at once
in s few minutes of this instant winter
Jinky was at the door begging to be let in

As he waltzed in
I could perceive
he was still mad at me
and retained considerable residual resentment
Too bad for him
I don;t care


what can you do
when your cat wants to
go out honky tonkin"
and winter is on its way?

Not much..

just be ready to open the door
to let him in
when he realises
he has no believable ID
or enough money
for beer..

Its another midnight feeding
of tender vittles
and we just don't mention bad moments
once they have passed

' friends don't remind you
you have gone too far
they either stop you in time
or they go too far with you

 

previous - next

 

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!