Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

Friday, Nov. 23, 2007 - 5:20 p.m.

Near Death By Snowstorm
**********************

Everybody I know
was slightly crazy on the weekend
not a fullmoon was in the sky
or a world ending event to fret about but somehow it seemed to be completely ok
to go total emo overdrive
crazy, bitchy sad of hysterical

I chose to stay home and be crazy here
seems a monster snow storm
was swirling in icy evil towards here
possibly tearing out theelectrical power
and crippling transportation state radio was whining about global warming
and how the chaotic weather
is now our nation enemy not the taliban..
or
they don;t dare even mention
America anymore unless
it's about sports or hollywood
what nationalist rats
they are in govt communications
to blank out an enormous chunk of
planetary news if its about the neibours
since our dollar went up in value
and ours is worth a few pennies more than the American dollar for the first time in 35 years.. woopie as if its a financial hockey game
game ya we win or something..
pride but become hated
hard times $ manipulators
by the people next door..
well ya, spose we are then..
sorry

almost overnight
exports to America slumped
and it costs more to do business there
and at home some victort
I simply have to stop listening to the news
( I don;t know why I started again )
and return listening to the music of
dripping taps
and the random melody
of dogs barking in the distance

i just wanted to track the progress
of the forthcoming snowstorm..
got mired in politics
shame on me

best guess was the monster storm
was going to hit after midnight
temperature would drop suddenly
winds would howl
and deadly cold snow would whip
and heap up its frozen diatoms
and abruptly end all traces of autum

Jinky begged to go out
walking across my book
as i read it
to drive home his sence of urgency
just a quick breath at midnight
before the storm trapped him indoors
for who knows how many days
I didn't want to let him out
but finally agreed
just a quick run and then come back in

he ran off and that was that
Storm rolling in winds groaning
I stayed up to let him in
two hours later he was not scratching
so i put on the BBC radio world service to keep me awake so i could be alert when he did show up..
by 4 am
no Jinky
the snow was swirling
visibility was almost zero
I figurred he was in some hole
waiting the storm out
i prayed for his delivery
and went to bed
an ear open for the
slightest sound of a scratch

in the morning there was
a blanket of snow everywhere,
and I hunted for any signs of
cat footprints
but nothing..
I stayed home and waited for him.
all day all night
nothing two days passed..
I started to entertain bad thoughts
about what may have happened to the
Scarlet Avenger VS the deadly Snowstorm
wondering if i should post a notice
down at the little store
offering a reward for his return
dead or alive

People who dropped by
were alarmed no Jinky here to greet them
and parade his inheirant wonderfullness
for their ultimate entertainment

theories of hungry coyotes
haunting the streets
looking for warm cat meat
and bad drivers running over
anything that moved
filled the room, after all
Jinky has a reputation around here
of running away with wild notions
and getting into trouble
he's well known in town
for pushing his luck

None of this drama was helping matters
I was whistlling myself hoarse
trying to call him in from the wind
and another day had passed-
here it was Thursday afternoon
and he'd been gone since Sunday night
naked and starving
suffering through a two day storm

then he appeared at the window alive!
i ran to let him in and he just waltzed in
I rushed to get him food
but he was only semi interested
I examined him and he looked great
clean and fluffy
and he just sort of yawned
and blinked up at me
this is not how disaster victims usually behave

three days without any food..
or proper shelter
against the murderous elements

....hmmm then I started to ask arpound town if anyone had seen my cat all week
"oh ya, a neibour saw him at 5 am
when he was couming home from nightshift Jinky was waiting on his porch with his own cat
and just ran inside the house
and stayed there
sleeping eating catboxing it
whatever
as guest of the neibours cat
for three days .. in a luxury setting
here I was anxious
and fretting for his life
and he was at a cat pajama party
up the street

I don't have to worry about Jinky surviving out there in the cold cruel world
he has developed his own
wonderful network of friends out there
of all species,
his inheirant good manors
disarmingly friendly style
and all round good nature
continues to make him
the neibourhood favourite
all I need now
is to get him a cellphone
so he can call home
when he's going to be
a few days late
getting back home

I'm seriously looking for a decent deal where he can have all the talk minutes he wants
after 6 pm
if he gets a model with a camera feature
he can do his own damn downloads
you seen one set of pix
blurry bunch of faces at a party
you pretty much
have seen them all
& he can set up
his own
facebook account

I am _not his servant !



 

previous - next

 

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!