Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

Wednesday, Nov. 28, 2007 - 9:05 p.m.

Jinky Joins a Gang
*******************

I hadn't seen him for
three days
but i don't worry:
he's big and smart enough
to take care of himself
he has many friends in the area
both animal and human

I saw him out
in the backyard early this morning
when I first got up
there he was in the frost tipped dry leaves
running around
with two other
young cats
about the same age

they were playing
chase and bite
apparently
their favourite game
there was a lot of chasing
and a lot of biting
everybody got in a several laps
and all the bites they could hope for
what could be better
than good natured fratricide?

I opened the door
and whistled for Jinky to come in
but he just looked up in mock puzzlement

he was playing hard
and was not interested
in anything
some stranger in the house
would had to say


When I went out to get the mail
I saw three cats on the porch
just sitting there mute and calm
tails swishing menicingly
this was Jinky's gang


They scattered when i approached
I suppose they were playing
wild animal persona
even though each one
looked like' they had grown up indoors
in the close company of attentive humans
and had watched a lot of TV but today
they were cagey wild animals
who only needed each other to dominate the world
of people and squirrels

both these subspecies were
just in the woprld to serve them

I learned from my neibour that Jinky
and a cat or two
would sit on her back porch
and stare in her window
hoping to steal a glance
at her perma indoor cats She tells me when Jinky is with the other cats'
he pretends he doesn't know her]
but if he's there by himself
she can pat him and pick him up
but he will play bite her
if she clutches for more than a few seconds

Today she was wearing heavy gloves
and could carry him across the street
and dump him
uincerimoniously on my driveway

Now that Jinky is well entrenched
in a semi a rural cat gang
he will
establish new priorities
create new loyalties and generate a new
and ever expanding world for himself

I may even see him way less often now
but he knows
he is loved and welcome here
when its cold
he can always come home
him and his cat gang
are preparing to rule the world
each one of them know
they are wonderful special beings
that cannot be held back
from their sparkling destiny

nor should they


 

previous - next

 

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!