Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

Sunday, Dec. 02, 2007 - 5:51 p.m.


Instant Heavy Winter
*********************

Jinky has been out and about
all week with his gang
I see his zip past the window
on some errand
and he won't come inside

Well yesterday the temperature plunged
and the winds blew with a fierceness
that i was afraid my roof would blow off
so I yunrned the porch light on for
the return of the Scarlet Avenger
and lit a fire hoping he would
smell the smoke and come home
no such luck

A big snowstorm hit here after midnight
dumping 15 cm of sharp snow all over
snarling up the visable world
and when i woke up
i inspected the yard for cat tracks
but nothing

so i ptayed for his safety
and went on with my life always keep an eye open for his arrival
and by mid afternoon
he did limp across the snowdrifts
and hang around the door
so i ley him in and fed him
he was looking sore and starving
and somewhat embaressed
about something

so I set up a blankyt box
over the heat vent and pointed it out
when he was done eating
he went right in
and passed right out
my mime powers are still good I used this opportunity to examine him:
he was greasy and matted
probably spent the night
under a parked car
I guess he didn't make it
indoors to some warm living room this time
but duked it out in the storm alone
also he seems to have a lot of
cat scratches on his face
I guess his gang are getting rough
and the stakes
in winter
have risen considerably

either they are all hassling
for the attentions of a girl cat
or stiffing out each other
from coming indoors
to share warmth and food

winner gets to eat buttered popcorn
and sleep by the hot air vent
the loser gets exiled
into the eye of the storm

cats are friendly to each other
when the sun is shining
but they are not
what i woiuld call
decent to each other
when hard times arrive

I keep thinking of an image
i retain from childghood
of the neibourhood cats
one by one in turn
coming up to smell
the fresh bloodspot
on the road
after one of their cat friends
was run over by a car
but there was nothing
anybody could do
at that point

I don't know if Jinky is
kind and generous out there
or if he does unto others
as he has had done unto him
and has had extended
any of the mercy
he benifited from here
to his furred brotherhood

I would like to think
he is a benevolent animal
but he might in actual fact
be a huge fuckup
in the cat community
afterall,
he came home
somewhat
scratched up
as well as cold and hungry
it was not
a work related injury


 

previous - next

 

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!