Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

Friday, Dec. 07, 2007 - 12:36 a.m.

Fast Forward
*************

I guess my cat is a man
no longer dependant on me
he will drop by sometimes
to eat and grab a nap
in a safe familiar
comfortable place
groom himself in the sunshine
ot by desklamp
and then return to the world outside
and persue his destiny at his first opportunity

Jinky came in tonight
out of the cold
first time i saw him in 30 hrs

starving and cold
but glad to be remembered
when he slipped inside
to gorge and pass out
I am glad he is a such a
fine independant being
maybe he is discovereing
the greater
world from the comfort and safety
growing up from a kitten here

as long as he knows that its a good world
-in spite of being beaten up
a friendly world
- in spite of being clawed up
and an interesting world
- in spite of being chased and bitten
then all my work has been worth it
I can release him happily
to his own devices
assured he has become,
in one year
a complete and noble being
he is now a grown cat
no longer a kitten
and has pretty much given up
the ways of kittenism
in order to be a full honours manlion

i did not raise him to be mine'
I raised him to be himself
and as I can see
it has been very successful

he knows
how cars and highways work
he knows
that coyotes will eat him
he knows
that people can be charmed
he knows
that dogs and cats like him
he knows
that he can survive any weather

If he can dodge
the coyotes and traffic
this winter
he will be fine


 

previous - next

 

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!