Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

Tuesday, Dec. 25, 2007 - 4:58 p.m.

Trackless on Yule
******************


I embrace faint hope
when I can look at
the untramped on virgin snow
in the backyard
and see the distinct trail of cat footprints
and Imagine jinky approaches the house
comes up to the window
and attempts to gain entry
but somehow turns off
and walks away across the tard
into the cedars and vanishes

this drama is all there to see..
a complete story in cat footprints
in real time
that speaks
as if it was
a voice over
in a nature film

I had great hope that Jinky comes over
as a secret ghost pet
and tries to get back in the house
but somehow misses me
by a few minutes everytime
and then walks back disappointed
into the forest
to live wild
and maybe try again later
to reconnect back here
and refind his place
in my humble home

today as i looked out the window
to admire the cedars
i saw who was making the cat tracks:
it was one of his cat gang
black and white and fat
just snooping around
So it was not Jinky
making the snow tracks afterall
it was some other cat
following the old Jinky trail
across the yard
up to the window
and then out across the yard
to the cedars

My heart sunk a little to realise
that i had been whipping up hope
that Jinky was making secret visitations
and here was evidence otherwise

the ghost cat is som eother cat
Jinky has not been
anywhere near the place for
two weeks which has seen
two big snow blizzards
two messy freezing rain storms
and several nights in a row
of cruel sub zero temperatures

I guess he figured i quit him
and has moved on
to somewhere else
away from the only home
he has ever known
the starting off address for
all his wonderful kitten adventures

I shudder that he must imagine
that I don't like him anymore
ot worse: that the coyotes like him
best of all


 

previous - next

 

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!