Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

Tuesday, Dec. 25, 2007 - 8:01 p.m.

Bullet to the Heart
*******************

I thought I would
make it easy for
Jinky to come home
so put a little dried catfood
and a pinch of high end wild catnip
on the window sill
where he customarily
asks to come in
and went off and had Christmas
When I got back this evening
I was sitting down
and I heard the bump
of a cat body against the glass
and the profile of a swishing cat tail
on the window sill
and I lept out of my chair
faster than had the house been on fire
to welcome you know who back
and switched on the light
to recveal it was the other cat
the gang member cat
the same one
who has been leaving tracks in the yard
there he was eating his catfood
and licking up his catnip
right on his windowsill

it was a bit of a disappointment
that it was not Jinky
but his tresspassing rival
gopbbling up his treats
but that is just my narrow perception
of the natural order of entitlement:
food and pleasure weeds
just laying there
rightlly belongs to
whoever finds it first
doublly so on Christmas
So my lesson is to give it up
to what's really happening
and forget my Tiny Tim walking over
to hug the Grinch fantasy
as that has nothing to do with
the hardball world of cats

opportunity is never lost-
someone else gets them


 

previous - next

 

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!