Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

Thursday, Dec. 27, 2007 - 7:35 p.m.

Don't Nuke that Kitten
**********************

Pal Sarah's new BF and her
somehow got talked into
accepting the last kitten
from someone they know's
kitten basket after a Christmas party
and they took her home'
and sort of realised the next day
that having a kitten
is a serious long term commitment
and nobody there is sure
where they will be living come spring

so they called me last night
and asked if Jinky had returned
I said no, not yet
and I was offered this "adorable girl kitten"
they wanted to place in a good home
that she would be a great replacement cat
and good company for the winter
I wasa little miffed that anyone
who was in his fanclub
would give up on Jinky so fast
and I said so
then was reminded
I had mentioned in the summer
of getting an
associate pet
for him
because he seemed to be
lacking cat company
ya I had said that
but added if I installed a new cat here
and Jinky walked back home
he'd think I just replaced him
with a WallMart replica
and he would walk away forever
maybe pee on my bootmatt
in justifiable rage
understandably mad at me
for underappreciating him

so I politely declined all offers
of a free kitten- fresh pet deal
for the new year
as cute and wonderful as it was
thank you
but no thank you

yesterday as i was out shopping
sarah and the new BF
brought the leftover kitten here
to tempt me into an instant adoption
but finding me gone
they all drove back to the bf's place
phoned me when I got back home
Where was I ?
they came all the way over'
with my new kitten
and they were disappointed
I wasn't home to take delivery
of the wonderful new girl kitten
Communication breakdown or
fanciful projection of responsibility transfer?
i will never know
like, as if any of that matters

Now a couple of summers back there
pal sarah and yet another BF
had brought me a senior citizen hedgehog'
that party friends were tired of as a pet
and they called and drove him over
one look at him and i accepted him
and installed him here as an honoured guest
So I guess I do have
a history of accepting
leftover animals they stumble upon

But when sarah called me
to semi chew me out
about forgetting--
for not being home
to receive the wonder kitten

I had to mention with grace
that i had never agreed
to take the kitten
assume all vet costs for shots
and spaying fees
set up litter box
and buy kitten foods
and devote quality time
full time bonding
and spend the summer of 2008
teaching her to dodge traffic
coyotes and other cats..
as much as i like kittens
I have a cat
the mighty Jinky
who just happens to be absent

mostly,
that I still expected Jinky to return
and I am doing artwork
for a poster advertising his absentness
hoping to get him back asap

Pal sarah did not like this turn down
now she was stuck
with this adorable girl kitten-
and has no destination for it
Sarah owns big crazy jumping dogs
and her BF is alergic to cats
I guess me not complying
was a serious hardship for them
I got a audio whiff
of terminal disappointment
maybe she would just drop it off
at the animal shelter
and let it take its chances
live or die, who knows?
and a prompt hang up

I did not sleep well
with that scenerio
eating at my dreams

So I had tea with the BF today
Sarah is mad at both of us
for not doing our part
in her casual kitten grab adventure
and wants us to resolve
the leftover kitten issue
maybe he doesn't want to
risk a break up right after Christmas
but I'm not afraid of her
I am afraid of the kitten
not getting the best deal

so we bargained hard
he would try to find a good home for it
and so will I tray to look for a good home
Sarah will have to live with
with whatever plan we come up with
BF is already sneezing
so I know he will work hard
at his end of the bargain
I wiull do another poster
describing the wonders
and enduring charm
of the adorable girl kitten
I have never laid eyes on

we will meet at New years Eve
where the BF is DJ'ing a show
I agreed to attend
to evaluate progress
of operation leftover girl kitten
however
I don't know if promoting
a new kitten
to a bunch of dancing drunks
is the best way to place superkitten
in a good home
it was casual party mode
that started all this
misplaced adorable kittnen stuff

Kittens must not suffer for
the excessess of the humans who
should be vguarding them

in the meantime
if Jinky comes home
I will honour my promise
to look into getting him
a cat brother or sister
as cat company here
maybe it will end up being
that adorable girl kitten afterall
and i will just end up
drowning in cat drama
dispised by my friends
for risking a kittens life
between Christmas & New Years

Stranger things have happened here
but not lately


 

previous - next

 

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!