Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

Saturday, Dec. 29, 2007 - 5:19 p.m.


Snow Canoe
**************

I was talking to my neibour
as he was in his yard
sweeping snow
off his canoe
to take it in the garage
to repair and repaint it
for the fishing season ahead
On his asking
I helped him carry his
camo green 17 foot canoe
from
point A
to point B
because him and me
are the only two guys
under 70 years old
in the hood here

and in the chit chat
he mentioned he had not
seen little red Jinky around lately
nor his tracks in the snow
or me playing with him out front
so, was he ok ?

it was like revealing
I had inoperable cancer
when i had to share
that the mighty Jinky is awol
and has been gone
since before Christmas

neibour likes Jinky alot
fed him deermeat scraps
while he filled his own freezer
with Bambi steaks
and was sorry
but encouraged me
to hang on because

" cats always come home"

I was feeling
a little gush of hope
til he added

"unless they died somewhere "

ya unless he died somewhere
' Jinky will come home
I'll make a note of that

and when he does come back
he will just take up
where he left off
and that is
being wonderful
and fully expecting
the whole world
to love him
as much as he loves
the whole world

 

previous - next

 

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!