Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

Thursday, Mar. 20, 2008 - 3:57 p.m.

Crazy Dream
*************

Rare afternoon nap today
just decided it was so cold and grey
that the best way to spend some time
was unconscious and laying flat

so I slipped off into a
fuzzy hour of dreaming
wind rocking naked tree branches
phone lines swaying
birds too cold to fly sort of day

and in seconds I was transported
back to the house I grew up in
looking out the window
where I could see way at the back
of the grey wet spring yard
a small red cat walking away

In my dream
I lept out of bed
and dressed in agonizing slow motion
and then had to wade through
a kitchen living room
full of standing around people
who I could barely navigate past
and out the door
which opened in slow motion
and I ran into the yard in slow motion
and towards the little red cat
who had just cleared the fence
and was carefully side stepping
puddles and wet muddy patches
up close he was not so red more grey
and I couldn;t see if he was Jinky for sure
but he was tangled up in the fence and I had to pull him upwards towards th top and let him rest up there

There were little kids nearby
who shouted out
" he's ours he's ours- leave him leave him
we have been feeding him in the winter
we have been feeding him
feeding him crackers "
the kids were annoyed at me
for interupting their work
feeding the red cat
but hey- this is my dream
I have work to do
as the dream red cat slow motion
turned his face around to me
I could see he was indeed Jinky
but he looked sad, wet and cold
and there were great patches of fur missing
and grey skin showed through
in many places'
he was very skinny
and his eyes were dull and cloudy
he looked 100 years old all of a sudden
though weak and limp and made a sad crying sound as I lifted him through the fence tangles
and did not resist as I
put him carefully inside my sweater
and could feel him go limp
then cry a weak little
thank you for saving me song
that animals will sing sometimes when we listen
and I moved in slow motion towards the house
full of indifferent people
with a wet happy cat inside my clothes
it seemed to take forever to walk back

and then i woke up
in real time
my face was wet
I had been crying a little
it was difficult to shake the dream off
and embrace reality with eyes full of salt water
I did pat myself down to see if Jinky
was by any chance still in my clothes
but no
he was still a citizen of dreamland
and could not pass from that world
to this one
it was very unsettling
to be so close to finding Jinky
only to have himslip beneath the waves
of the sea of dreams
as wonderful to get a glimpse of him
as it was cruel to lose him again

since my phrophetic nap
the sun has come out
long bold shadows appear a
cross the formless putty grey world out there
the wind still blows crazy demon
and the phone wires still swayy menacingly if there is one speck of red moving
anywhere out there
i will see it
and go up and look for him
and try again to bring him home



 

previous - next

 

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!