Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

Thursday, Apr. 17, 2008 - 9:30 p.m.

I Thaw Spring Thaw
********************

Today I saw behind some buildings
facing north and sheltered
a four foot high snowdrift
hiding out in the shade
between some tall cool cedars
never had I seen
snow look so guilty

and then
fifteen minutes later
in the sunny part of the meadow park
I saw wild violets breaking out
from the just greening grass
around the sunny side
of the bases of the giant ancient maples
in the spooky old cemetary
and a morning cloak butterfly
floated by in the warm breeze
and banked around me in a circle
as surprised to see me
as i was to see her

all is well in the world
when spring shows her lovely face
after such a long hard winter
of nothing upon nothing

tonight at our production meeting
everybody was in a great mood
compared imaginary tans
from the day of magic sunshine
we had enough pre bud
flowering cherry branches
to honour the girls
but stinky guys
don't get anything

take out coffee is more than
enough salutation
for the lost winter heros
for today the girls are spring
the boys are a beat behind
the long sweet song
of very much here & now
as we dream of & plan for summer

 

previous - next

 

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!