Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

Tuesday, May. 13, 2008 - 8:57 p.m.

Learning Curve
****************
I almost forgot
what a lot of work a kitten is
but I sure missed watching
a wonderful new being
learning about the world

tonite I ate supper outside
because it was so mild
and Taser decided
to entertain me
as I dined.
he jumped and ran in the new grass
and discovered a big slow fly
that he could almost catch
he was very excited to be able
to almost catch something
I can tell he will be a hunter
and catch many flies

after eats
I wondered if I could take him up
on the bike and ride down to the lake
like I did so many times with Jinky
but it took some coaxing
to convince Jinky that this
was a great idea
but eventually he got used to it
and looked forward to our rides and frolics
he began to insist on his hightly rides

Little Taser however.
was a little afraid of
zooming along so fast
without actually running himself
and began to shake in fear
so I pulled over
and let him out
at the little kids park
and let him explore
to his hearts content

mostly he walked under bushes
and smelled things
but when he saw me walk away
he ran after me
a good sign of bonding
so I went over to the
big new plastic activity area
and taser followed
and I was able to climb
the little stairs of the plastic slide
and he came after me blinking with curiosity
and soon he was walking up the plastic stairs
and in and out of the plastic rails and rings
and sniffing at the whole set up.

It was pretty ridiculas
that a teacup sized kitten
had the entire play area to himself
but he did
and seemed to delight in assuming elevations
and looking out and down at the world yonder
as he climbed yet higher on the apparatus
he is fearless and seeks adventure

It was hard to convince him to wrap up
because he quickly figgured ouit the maze
and was able to avoid tumbling down the slide
he has excellent co ordination and motor skills
and is in no way
a retarded cat
he does not
in any way
obey me
but pays attention to me
when hes in a new situation

as I was attempting to coax him towards me
so I could pick him up
and take him home on the bike
suddenly a flock of geese passed overhead
very low honking loudly
and so close we could hear their wings flapping
it was alarming they appeared so fast and so close

Taser stared at the geese
with his eyes popping out
all his hair standing on end
he had never seen other animals
except for his own cat family
& some dogs at a distance
these geese were the first wild animals
he had ever encountered
except for flies today
he was very impressed

while he was standing there stunned
I grabbed him and carried him to the bike
and rode him the block home'
he was less afraid on the way back

maybe I can ride him again tomorrow
and in a few days
make it all the way to the lake
I know he will like the lake
the only water he has seen before is the bathtub as we passed a bunch of little kids
playing road hockey one yelled out
" is that your new cat?"
" yes" i called in passing" his name is Taser"
they all yelled " Cool " on unison
nice to know I have a cool cat

Taser was glad to get home
amongst familiar surroundings he smelled the things he recognised and seemed content
that all was well in his world again
he ate some more
and is now asleep on my neck I am sure his kitten dreams are way more dramatic now
after his first bike ride'
his first climb on plastic playground apparatus
and his first encounter with noisy Canada geese

tomorrow is another day
different form all other days in some way
how different we don;t know
thats part of the fun of being alive

because he is so small
I estimate he costs me about
79 cents a week to feed him
and thats four meals a day
a kitten is definately
the bargain of a lifetime

 

previous - next

 

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!