Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

Friday, Jun. 13, 2008 - 12:36 p.m.


Myth Takes
***********

"...I�ve always preferred
mythology to history.
History is composed of
truths that become lies,
mythology of lies
that become truths.

One characteristic
of our age is that it creates
instant myths in every field.
The press is responsible for
inventing people who
already exist and endowing them
with an imaginary life,
superimposed on their own.

Brigitte Bardot
is a perfect example
of this odd concoction.
It is likely that fate
set her down at the
precise point
where dream and morality merge.

Her beauty and talent
are undeniable,
but she possesses some other,
unknown quality
which attracts idolaters
in an age deprived of gods."

� Jean Cocteau

 

previous - next

 

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!