Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

Wednesday, Jun. 25, 2008 - 11:39 p.m.

rescue at 5 pm
***************

Pals looked in on me at 5pm
they figgured i would have been done my job
and in the need fior some relaxation
I was brave and did not share that
my work went to complete ruin
and I am three days into zero

nah, not me to rain on anyone
where denial is what I eat for breakfast
- the most important meal of the day

soi we put some art supplies,
and Taser into their car'
and we all drove to get thm beer
but the beer store was closed
and so drove to a cheezt strip plaza
and settld for iced tea and Tortilla chips
Taser was delighted to be driving in a car-
watching so much roadside action
zip past through the window but soon decided there was something of great value on the floor

Then to the lake
and when I opened the car door
and let him out
he was shocked & delighted
that we had arrived right
at his favourite place
in the company of his favourirte people
and we had food
and as there were three giants with him
no dog woiuld ever prevail
so I watched as Alyssa
,marched across the meadow,
closely followed by Taser
dancing at her heels
to retrieve his jumping stick
which I stash in rose bushes
Matt played guitar to honour the lake
and i just sat there
taking it all in

I saw from a distance
the Taser routine
I usually perform at the lake:
- dig out & work the magic stick
as the kitten races around
his electric red fur a blurr of action
in sharp contrast to the
quiet lush green meadow
and as the string and feather end
begins to wiggle that
come and get me dance
taser leaps at it
like a saber toothed cat

Other strollers ask me
who's that working the kitten tohight?
I begin to grasp that Taser,
like Jinky before him
is everybodys
favourite attraction at the lake
the amazing olympic cat show ]
every evening at the waters edge
everybody invired- except maybe dogs

I can finally see why
watching Alyssa and Taser
do their crazy leap routine
as a mere observer myself
two full body lengths
and combination double mid air twist
I realize that every evening he does
these sorts heroic acrobatic shows
for the many lake watchers
who gater to watch the sun set
over the vast sheet of
uncompromised water
that is the Great lake Ontario

As we sit and pop our iced tea
and pass around the tortilla chips some people pass by and thank us for the show
they thought iot was teriffic
at which point Taser
leaps on the table
walks around sniffing our beverages
and then jumps onto my shoulder'
and stands on his himd legs
and attempts to climb the tree above us
by grabbing onto a overhanging branch

By this point everybody was
laughing and clapping
at the sheer nerve
' of this small red cat
trying to climb a big pine tree
by standing on people

I was honoured he trusted me enough
to use me as a scaffold
and just fo for it

I was lucky I had witnesses
because I doubt anybody
would ever believe me
if they hadn;t seen it
for them self
It is just a matter of time'
before cats can fly

I had completely forgotten
how pissed off I was beforec 5 pm
andnow I was in no mood
to re piss off
so i accepted the ride back with Taser
and reworked the last of the T shirt art
so we can go into production tomorrow

Taser is napping in a little box'
he sure earned his catfood today

 

previous - next

 

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!