Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

Sunday, Aug. 24, 2008 - 11:51 p.m.

Worthy of Paradise
*********************

I was preparing the kayak
for the trip down to the water
when Taser the amazer
the worlds smartest kitten
decided he would jump inside
and play with the tie down ropes
A good sign- he is at least interested
an occassional nautical lifestyle

So as I haul said floating
paradise craft waterwards'
on the new easy wheels
Taser decided to follow along
keeping pace with me
along the side of the road
another good sign
he might be a water cat
deep down inside

we got to the little meadow
above the beach
and as I unstrapped the kayak
Taser ran over to greet some girls
who were at the water with their folks
I think he now associates girls
with good times
_ like who doesn't?

well they adored him instantly
and kept him occupied
with their loving hands
while their folks took photos
as i carried kayak
to the beach below
crunching along the gravel
I waded out into the cheery lagoonette
and set my little white kayak into the water

I whistled for Taser
and he came running
through the tall grass
and appeared on the boulders
directly above the beach'
striking a pose like a tiny defiant lion
to watch me put out to sea
his redfur blowing in the breeze

moments later
his harem of adoring girls
appeared beside him on the cliff above
they would be there, steadfast
keeping close watch for any sign of
dogs, danger or catnappers
so i could paddle away
and never fear that Taser
would get lost or lonely

perfect kayak ride tonight
in ten minites I was way way out there
at one with the
mirror calm turquoise water
slowly sinking glowplug red sunball
the August evening sky
peeking through a vast churning horizon
streaky pink clouds
breathing in hushed tones overhead
a single silent silver jet high overhead
sewed itself trough the sky
pulling a thead of white vapour thread

nothing but the barely audible
lapping of the happy waters against
my little white fibreclass boat

-and some idiot honking his truckhorn
somewhere on shore
none the less,
it was an admirable paradise

Even in paradise
the sun goes down
so i veat it back to shore,
aiming for the little lagoonette
where i had left Taser
in the good care of those girls
as i slowly approached
I could see the silloettes of the girls
who had progressed down from the cliffs
and into the swarm shallow water
frolicking like joyful mermaids
as their dryland sisters
tossed stones into the lake
just to make splashes
to amuse Taser
who stood at attention lionlike
on a huge log on the beach
fascinated by the show
his girls were putting on
just for him

as I approached them
the frolicking mermaids called out
" here comes the kitty's Dad "

I guess I am Tasers dad-
I look out for him'
and do my best to help him
become all that he can be
and if the mermaids say so
It is so

As I slide the nose of my kayak
into the satisfying crunch of wet sand
Taser blinks at me
in slow motion disbelief
-had I really come across the water
just to join up with him?
would his attentive configuration
of lakeside laughing mermaids
and end of day red sun wonderland
go on forever?
too numb with joy
to deal with all the wonder

But time in paradise indeed stopped
for a whole heartbeat
but that was just enough time
to drill a small hole
into the sky
and let all fond dreams twinkle
in a single warm flash
of close eyed foreverness
deep inside
where our laughing sides live

Dream on little red kitten
drink your happy soul
the loving milks of paradise
it is as real as anything



 

previous - next

 

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!