Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

Friday, Sept. 12, 2008 - 8:49 p.m.

The Wise Old Cat
******************


after a rainy week
we can barely imagine the weather
is minimally fit enough
to go down to the lake after supper
so dare tp risk the tain pregnant clouds
scoop up one sleepy moist furred red kitten
and go into the wet dusk
theres nobody outside
the world is deserted and so is the beach
totally deserted
no sunset watchers
no dog walkers
no traffic
no birds
no wind
the lake so foggy it seems
to have disappeared
its silent too
' I have to conjure up a stored memory
of the lake in summer to convince myself
there really is a huge lake out there

Taser is not impressed
he huddles against the cool moist air
and avoids walking on the dewy grass
and sort of stares at me with eyes that ask
" This sucks..why are we here "

then out of the mist comes
another cat walking
straight towards us
out of the low fog
like a dream sequence
an old grey Persian
I recognise him as
the lumpy old cat
that usually sits
on the old German ladys porch
all the time like an ornament
the very same cat
that gave Jinky the gift of
a live Vole last summer
which though weird
was sort of a nice gesture

so old cat here heard us and came over
but Taser was not happy to see him
his fur stoof on end
ears lay back
growled at the lonely old cat
I welcomed the Grampa cat
who seemed genuinely glad
for some attention
he ignored Taser and approached me
for a little head scratch
I guess after several days inside
waiting out the rain
he just needed some fresh air
and a little friendship

As Taser went biserk at him
the old cat kust looked away
and than at me with eyes saying
"...these young ones ..
...so angry all the time..
...angry at what..?? "

What was Taser mad at ??
and old man cat
who wasn't going to bother him'
a cool old cat
who is generous to other cats
but gets crapped on
in this present Catopia

if cat society
has cat elders'
or cat priests
or cat sages
I thing this old dude was one
he seemed to understand that
part of growing up
was hissing at anyone
who came too near

maybe growing up for all beings
is being cool with everybody else
making an effort to be happy
not taking it personally
when someone hisses at you
handing out a few courtesy voles
every now and then

 

previous - next

 

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!