Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

Friday, Sept. 19, 2008 - 12:28 a.m.

Even Back Then There was a Now
***********************************


�Therefore,
be attentive to time
and the way you spend it.
Nothing is more precious.
This is evident
when you recall
that in one tiny moment
heaven may be gained or lost.

God, the master of time,
never gives the future.
God only gives the present,
moment by moment,
for this is the law
of the created order,
and cannot be contradicted in creation.

Time is for humanity,
not humanity for time.

God, the Lord of nature,
will never anticipate
our choices which follow
one after another in time.
We can never be able to
excuse ourselves
at the last judgement,
saying to God,
�You overwhelmed me
with the future
when I was only capable of
living in the present.��

~ The Cloud of Unknowing (14th century)

 

previous - next

 

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!