Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

Wednesday, Nov. 26, 2008 - 11:53 p.m.

I Feed a Huge Cat in Hard Times
*********************************

Pal mac stopped by today
he was in town to visit his folks
and check in before Christmas
he shared his big city cell phone number
in case I wanted to
visit next time I am in the evil city
his end of the evil city
he lives in a enormous apt
downtown with five other guys

three bedrooms
two bathrooms
and a small kitchen
no living room
just a hall with bedrooms off it
it reminded me of Hong Kong
without the bringt Asian atmosphere
the one small window looks out onto
a grim parking lot
with lights blazing all night
but at least there are no crackheads lurking
trying to do zombie mischief
He works two jobs and he's poor
and is looking for a third job
so he can maintain his
present level of poverty
in the coming recession..
in the evil city
all anyone talks about
is doom ..
because they have no weather
just seasonal holidays..
here in Dorktopia
we have both weather and holidays
but no culture hense: no impending doom
just impending winter
thats doom enough
we will get spring for sure here
its uncertain if the evil city
will get an economic upswing


Small town living is not affected by
extreem economic downswings
because we have hardly any
infrastructure to maintain..
Our one big fear is that
next summer tourism
just won't happen
and then we dry up
slip into a time warp
and freeze frame in 2009
as the rest of the world stumbles
into a fearful future.
At least we have an agricultural base
that keeps on succeeding.
regardless of the shifting value of land
our farms remain fertile

At least we are not a town centered on
an automobile assembly factory
cause if a towns' auto induz goes down
that town goes full Flintstone overnight
and will never recivilize
in this present generation..

Old people say they know
when a recssion is underway
by the number of rusty cars on the highway because desperate people don't
pay attention to the cosmetic aspect
of their transportation.
And rustwill really show
on those zillions of pale silver
urban Yuppy mobiles

Ya so the evil city has just
boosted the prices of basic everythings:
- a cup of coffee,
- public transit fares
- postage stamps
- haircuts and CDs
- bread, milk and eggs

who ever said
the end of the world
was going to be on sale?
I don't feel threatened
because I live realistically
and as a result I live well
I am healthy hopeful and happy
My cat is growing huge
and he is happy and healthy
Taser can catch birds
if human society collapses
and I can grow my own food
amuse myself
and comfort others
like-- so who cares
if the world does blow up?

where there is fire and a roof
there is tea and a warm place for a cat
where there is tea and a happy cat
there be civilization..

as far as we are concerned
we have always been rich
because we have lots of what
cannot be taken away

unless you really want a dead bird and a teapot
and believe me, we will fight you for them

 

previous - next

 

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!