Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

Monday, Feb. 09, 2009 - 11:36 p.m.

I Thought I Thaw a PuddyCat
******************************

Finally
a break from the
howling winds of winter
a blessed thaw hit here
and actually melted some spots
where the sun shines advantageously at
certain southern facing hillsides

one special sunshine melt hole
is a two metre square
in the backyard under the cedar trees
where the shadow of the roof has a V pinch
and a solitary bean of light can play
through that notch
and warm a small zone

and the snow melts there first
and the daffodills come up there first
it is the best little hotspot
in the whole backyard

so Taser somehow discovered this heat notch
all by himself without any prompting from me and as I looked out the window
I could see him checking it out
sniffing the thermal potential
and doing the math-
I saw him settle down like muffin
in the brief holy light of winter
right on and within the gound zero hot spot
for a daytime February nap outside
he looked so religious out there
squatting like a close eyed feline Buddah
twisting his abundant red body
to be totally in the light enriched notch
and curling his tail over his back
so that it wasn't in the colder shade

this early thaw spot
is where the squirrels
bury heartnuts
so that they could retrieve them
at first thaw

maybe thats how
Taser caught that Blue Jay-
at an auspicious moment
as bird was robbing squirrel
cat eats bird

I am just glad that somebody
of whatever species
or inclination can make good use
of a blessed square metre
of magic ground I can see from here

maybe the whole world
is one big magic metre
of remarkable ground
that needs further study
to fully appreciate its sheer
eternal wonderfullness

My cat - the intuitive climitologist

making the best of
Global warming
while he can

 

previous - next

 

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!