Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

Friday, Mar. 06, 2009 - 1:55 p.m.

The Sneak

*********

I am working at home today
and in the background I hear a crash
Taser is dashing around
amongst books and boxes
making weird noises
he runs past
panting- hair on end
I can see in the mirror
that he is pacing in front of
some canvases stacked up against the wall
He has probably corned a mouse there
and is waiting for him to emmerge
so he can catch him
bite him up
and then eat him.
.
I salute his simple
straight forward priorities
in a complex uncertain abstract world

a rare daytime
at home mouse hunt
Taser is pretty good
about keeping
their numbers down all winter

I get to witness his stalking techniques
from the luxury of my chair
where I can see
him obsessed with personal best success
as much as the mouse
is probably doing the math
on how to best survive
being hunted down by a monster

Taser will creep away and observe
the canvas mountain
from across the room-
covering any possible escape route
like an RCMP tactical team commander
eyes bugged out'
tail slightly twitching
in crazed anticipation
then he pads over to the place
where he last saw his target
and sniffs the entire perimeter
of the canvas pile to find out where
a stinky little mouse
might be hiding

after several minutes
Taser comes over to me
and quitly whines
as if to share with me'
his frustration and desire

if I am so much his friend'
will I please use all my
advanced human powers
& help him defeat this mouse ?
I can see in his eyes he is ernest in this
but I figure its better to respect him,
& permit him to hone his swat skills
and let him either catch that mouse today
or comfort him so he can catch it tomorrow

What is the right answer here?
I say - let it be
Taser says - let's get the mouse right now
mouse says- let's everybody fuck off

 

previous - next

 

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!