Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

Sunday, Mar. 29, 2009 - 6:44 p.m.

It Could Have Been ..
***********************

Driving home from the evil city (TM)
yesterday afternoon
beautiful day
the highway was full of
pickup trucks hauling stuff-
plywood /fencing /furniture
because somebody
somewhere all at once
wanted to do something
on this invigorating afternoon

the first good day this year
ya on both sides of the highway
dead grey wood orchards
looked like they would
soon burst into bud
at any moment
under a clear blue sky
shimmering with hope
and promise

and up ahead on the road
was a big red streak
as we got closer
we could see
it was a cat
that had just been hit
just minutes before
he was a beautiful red haired cat
obviously a beloved family pet
who had made a bad choice
crossing the road

his face was angelically perfect
as if just sleeping
but the rest of him was torn up bad
I saw it all flash by
in an instant
and could hardly shake
that sight from my mind
even after we had driven
miles and miles away

when I got home
I ran inside
and looked for Taser
found him asleep on a chair
on a folded sweater
but I woke him up
and hugged him
to make sure he was fully alive
and perfectly healthy

he was confused
but glad to see me
half asleep he managed a purr
then I put him tenderly back
where I found him
and he rolled back into dreamland
with a squeeky sigh
very much alive

I was never so happy to see him
as I was yesterday
I didn't cry in joy for finding him
in 100% perfect health
sleeping peacefully
but I could have

maybe I should have
maybe I will later

 

previous - next

 

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!