Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

Tuesday, May. 12, 2009 - 6:56 p.m.

The Popular Press
*******************

I just read a random diary blog
written by a popular girl.
She goes to college
lives in a dorm
is generally boy crazy
and ditches class to go to day parties
held by failing students who never go to class

She writes over a few weeks
after March Break
that she is now-or suddenly
............. popular
I can't tell if she was
traditionally popular back in her home town
and now has finally achieved,
after months of intense competition
the popularity she was missing

or if she is a noob just
cracking the popularity circuit
for the first time

Her days being popular
consisted of drinknig
one of every imported beer
anybody handed to her
and smoking bong after bong
of various kinds of loopy pot.
I get the idea she never did any of this
in her other life as an A student
in downtown Dweebsville
She is certainl;y making up for it now

How she decided he was now " popular "
is a mystery known only to herself
and her closest 140 friends

As her final exams approached
she began having doubts
that cutting class
getting stoned and drunk
then falling into a series of cute
but underachieving boys arms
was such a great idea'

being popular was not as excviting
as it was when she started.
Eight weeks on the popular A list
and she had enough

she quits dope on April Fools day
and within a week her minds gets clearer
stopping drinking miraculously
refreshes her finances
and she no longer wakes up sick
in some losers messy bedroom

She does have this to say
after giving up being popular
to return to a hard working
sober chaste straight A girl
her gramma raised her to be

paraphrased

" when I was popular
it was a lot of work
i would party hard
with people I didn't have
anything in common with
people I never knew their names
where they came from
or where they were going.
Everybody was cool
I was cool.
cool was cool
it started to get
boring being so cool all the time
I didn't know who i was anymore
all the me dribbled away
to who knows where
and all that was left
was being popular
Everybody was popular
popular was popular
it started to get boring
all this popular
I had to hide all my bears in case
anyone saw them
and thought they weren't cool
They aren't cool
they're bears

I returnrd to being myself
only after not showing up
at the cool parties
and spending more time alone
I started to draw again'
to write again'
to play the guitar again
to read again
to explore again
I like who I used to be
I like who I am again
i don't who i was
when i was popular .."


 

previous - next

 

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!