Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

Wednesday, May. 27, 2009 - 1:50 p.m.

Don't Climb in the Truck
**************************

Cold, windy, overcast
chance of rain
pal drops over and says
" hey- perfect weather to go fishing
wanna come along?"
Now I no longer fish
but I used to
and enjoy the ambiance
of this waterside activity
so I bring my teapot
as i had just made it
and two cups as pal waits
outside having a smoke
just then Taser runs in
seeing the truck
he gets very excited
= he had often riden in this truck
and driven down to the lake
and released to run around at the shore as we fished
and hung out
It was one of Tasers favourite things
in the whole world to do
but it had been several months
since we last did this
cat express delivery to waters edge

I grabbed my jacket
and went out to the driveway
as Taser danced around in joy
but we were not going to the easy spot
he was used to where he could run
we were going to the big rocks
by the strong current
is deep and fast not safe for cats
and besides it was a crappy day
he would just get rained on
and be miserable in the wind
Taser wasn;t buying any of this-
he saw the friendly truck and wanted in
I had to push him aside gently
and ease myself in though the passenger door rolling up the window in case
he tried to leap in while we rolled away
Having to discourage him from joining us
was a big job, a cruel task
to reject a cat who just wanted
to go to the lake and have fun
" not this time, next time for sure"
I was lying and he knew it
I knew he knew I knew

Taser was _furious at being left behind
he is not used to not being accomodated
so he stood defiantly in the driveway
in the headlights glare as we backed out
staring hate darts at me' through the windshield
then turned away and marched
under the cedars to pout in the wind

Fishing itself was uneventful we talked
about the winter behind
and the summer ahead
goofed with mugs of tea
watching the evil sky
swirl dark overhead
threatening rain
and the rod top wiggle
as little fish hit the bait
when I got dumped off home
I walked in and there was Taser
installed on my chair waiting for me still mad

I tried to explain that this was
serious fishing away from the fun easy beach
the water was cold and dangerous
not a fun place for cats I was not lying- I would take him to the river
when it warmed up a little more
its still cold & weird out there ..

But Taser feigned being asleep
deep breathing and tightly closed eyes
he wouldn't wake up or acknowledge
that I was there wanting my chair back
So when i shook him gently
to lift him out of the way
so i could sit down
he played all stretch yawn sleepy
and dived his head into my armpit
so i would not be able to do anything else
but pat him
and so pat him I did
as he sniffed the lake on my hands
purred a little recognising the familiar scent
of the big happy water
then rolled over
to curl up in a big red ball
sighing loudly & proudly
like he used to do
to show me he was satisfied
when he was very small.

I better arrange for some nice weather soon
and get him down to the lake for the whole day
so he can experience the happy waters for himself

We all await the return of wonderful summer-
men and carts and everybody else
except maybe those people living in
the houses right by the water
who hate everybody



 

previous - next

 

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!