Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

Monday, Jun. 01, 2009 - 11:15 p.m.

Bird Biter
*********

My neighor tells me she sees Taser
walking a fixed path through her yard
every morning at about 6 am
he is hunting birds at her bird feeder
and has a regular stealth route worked out
he must know his red furs shows up against
all that dazzling greenery out there
and in winter,
he cuts a sharp contrast
against all that
dazzling white snow
Seems he just kills the birds
leaves their sweet little corpses there
and walks on to his next appointment

neighbor lady buries the dead birds
in her peony bed'
5 days out of 7

she is getting tired of him
showing up like clockwork
as he drinks her morning coffee
slaying and moving on
she says his " murders"
as she calls them
puts her off her game
for the whole morning

She is not really happy
starting her day with a scream
and a flutter of feathers
as a small red lion takes down
a dear little bird
could I perhaps
feed him better please?

I feed him well very well:
his bowl is never without kibble
he gets tuna on occasion
and when i eat orange cheese'
he always gets some
as a reward
for being so orange himself
What more can I do?
Fry him a hamburger?
he isn;t at all fat
so I am not buying him
low cal cottage cheese

So that's what Taser does
at dawn everyday
-kills a bird and then leaves
This is weird as 5 days out of 7
by 7 am he slips in the cat door
eats some kibble
and then falls asleep at my feet
til I get up at 8 -
he dreams without guilt
on a bright Mexican blanket
as the sun pours in the window

Yesterday I heard birds screaming
in the yard and I looked out to see
a pair of robins dive bombing Taser
as he tried to run into the house
they flew at him and pecked at his head
as he ran
and at his bum
as he wiggled in
through the cat door
and then they dive bombed
at the window in rage
knowing he was in here
as a guest of the giants

He skittered off & hid out for a while
20 mins later limped in to see me
for a cuddle and a pat
sure enough...
'he had a dozen very sore looking
peck marks on him
He was very humiliated
and would not look me in the eye.
imagine that---
bettered by birds

But tomorrow who knows-
will be do it all over again
or did his bird biting career
come to a glorious end ?
I will have to ask my neighbor
how the bird burying business is these days

She_ does have lovely peonies

 

previous - next

 

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!