Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

Monday, Sept. 28, 2009 - 10:15 p.m.

Thermometer Reading
***********************

Cold Weather makes
everybody crazy
all of a sudden
conversations moves
from sunny inquisitions
with sliced fruit
of " How are you? "
to moody confessions of
" I am sooooooooooooooo fucked up..."
with black coffee and dead food
Tim Hortons even tunes its menu
to accommodate ghost season

that was fast-
flushing away the glad fairies of summer
and whamming ing up the snowdrift demons

You can smell their dusty souls
flying up out of the basement
when you turn on the furnace
to kick off the heating season

Nothing a few sticks of incense can't fix
or opening a small can of tuna,
depending who you ask
when we vote, we raise one hand
not all four legs and a tail please

nothing like three days of rain
to scare the amateur mental health league
into surrendering en masse.
No wonder bars and prisons
get built in advance of
population expansion

i don't let the weather
call my moods
or shape my framer of mind
I can do that all by myself
' thats a huge plus
if I do say so myself

any phonecall
after 10 pm
this time of year is
always bad news
somebody needs a dream
to invade for the night
good news
always waits
for the morning
so you can do
something about it

I look forward to spending
several thousand hours
all by myself here
in the next few months.

already leading the life
I envied so long ago


 

previous - next

 

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!