Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

Friday, Oct. 16, 2009 - 11:29 p.m.

Every Wednesday Night
*************************

I used to be a cub and then a scout-
I loved it without a moments regret
Every Wednesday we would all squat
in a circle and chant this poem:
I never knew till today that it was
a Rudyard Kipling poem from almost
a 100 years ago, I recall swearing
eternal loyalty to the Queen as a condition of becoming a scout-I agreed with all my heart
hands clutching a real cloth Union Jack flag from the dusty closets of the Church storeroom- - not some wimpy Canadian Flag made of nylon from the dollar store. It was way more awesome than school with its hysterical lady teachers ragging out at us six hours every day, Scout masters had knives, and actually knew how to do things.. they were, masters of the evening - not assholes of the daylight 9-5
Cub meetings were holy undertakings-
School was a parade of incompetence

" The Jungle Book " was I imagine
the " Lord of the Rings " of its time.

Maybe someday years from now
a bunch of hyper active boys will gather on some Wednesday evening in a church basement and vamp up passages from LOTR. as some old fart dressed as Gandolf makes mystical gestures over them/
Imagine Hobbit Camp--
imagine Middle Earth parades

**********************************************

Now this is the law of the jungle-
-- as old and true as the sky;
And the wolfcub the shall keep it my prosper
but the wolf that shall break it must die.

As the creeper that girdles the tree-trunk,
the Law runneth forward and back--
- For the strength of the pack is the wolfcub,
and the strength of the wolf is the pack.

~Rudyard Kipling

 

previous - next

 

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!