Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

Thursday, Feb. 18, 2010 - 3:24 p.m.

Cartoon Burn Box
*****************

Truth here is
I actually was
sorting out artwork
and had a designated burn box
and I was burning artwork..
and was throwing it in
by the handfull
to take the chill out of my studio during a cold snap

While it was aflame
I saw to my horror
that there was
a selection
already alight
that I had actually
wanted to keep
not but but it was
too dangerous to retrieve,...


so I watched it go up in flames,
It was not exactly
an act of
altruistic
artistic
integrity,
but more of an accident.

I really had
little to do with it
except make a mistake
and watch what happened

As it burt up though
and I realized that was that-
it wasn't ever coming back,
I was a little sad to see it go.
but beause i created it
all these feelings
and memories of association
began to gush out.
I rather enjoyed
the high speed memory surge
more than the artwork itself.
I was very surprised
at just how much
emotional energy
was ingrained in each piece of art-

So for a laugh
I posted three fuzzy photos
on FB of works
that I was indifferent to
and noted in passing
these were from the burn pile-
actually they were from
the delete pile
as these initial photos
were badly lit and fuzzy
and I was deleting them

My claims of burn
were true though,,
but this referred to
the first few images-
Then I added more photos
from the old external memory

It was curious to watch
what my friends had to say
about it the cartoon burn
-some wanted them all to rescue
-others wanted one or two-
but go ahead ha!
burn the rest
-someone I didn;t even know
wanted someone to grab them
so she could use them
to decorate her home office-
= wise guys imagined
I was hoaxing on FB for a laugh


I have never knowingly
posted any of my work on the net before because
1) I don;t know how to do this
2) I am unwilling to post work so that people will just swipe it

Best thing to come out of this
was crushette realized
I was at my wits end
She knows I am useless
in machinery operation
but deeply involved on it
none the less
she offered to
come over some evening
or three and tinker here
help me straighten out
my Frankenstein computer
and help determine
whats wrong here
in wire world
that my creative output
froze up completely
This is a big job
and I will have to do her
a gigantic favour in return

I am somewhat desperate at this point
I have entire major projects
inside the old box I cant get at
I know i have to back stuff up
but have no idea
what that means or entails

I am one inch away
from unplugging everything,
hauling the boxes of doom
into the basement
and returning to
the simplicity & satisfaction
of paper
the only electrical thing
I can trust
is my desklamp

 

previous - next

 

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!